Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I cooked it in a slow cooker. My mistake was I put the frozen roast in it and turned it to high setting......roast was still tough when we were ready to eat. So I left it ovenight in low settings. It needed more flavor so I added a jar of muchroom gravy and it came out good. I think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Plainly & simply put...THIS WAS GOSH AWFUL. The smell while cooking, was anything but appetizing. The taste matched the horrible smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
After 4 hours at low, the onions were still hard and the roast wasn't done. I now have the sucker in the microwave cooking. I should have just cooked it in the crock pot like I always do: Throw the roast in, put a quartered onion and some garlic on top, sprinkle with powdered onion and beef broths, add a bay leaf, and cook it on low 6 to 8 hours. We would be eating it right now! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very easy and very good. Did add a small amount of beer broth along with the vinegar just in case there was too little liquid to keep onions/meat from singeing. Definite keeper. Meat moist and tender. Gravy meaty and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Just made this recipe and it is wonderful with my adaptations. I trimmed the fat from the meat. I added salt and course cracked pepper and browned the meat on all sides in 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil. I used 3 onions, 3 cloves of garlic, sliced. I added 1/2 cup water with 2 tsp. bouillon to the meat while cooking. I only had to cook the meat for 1 hour 5 minutes, checked the temp with a thermometer and it was already 150 degrees. To make gravy I only used 1/4 cup water with the tablespoon of flour. I had lots of beef broth and onions. I took a potato masher and pressed the onions and garlic to thicken the gravy too. My husband loved it. I don't recommend any additional herbs, you taste the meat and onions, you don't need any other flavors. Instead of 3-4 hours, my roast was ready to serve in 1 hour and 20 minutes. The browning of the meat really cut down on the cooking time. It was done and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Came out great. Per some other reviews: Seared the meat before putting in pot. Only had 1 large onion on hand which worked fine. Added a couple cloves of garlic and sprinkled a tad of garlic powder in addition to salt & pepper. Also added about 1/2 cup beef broth to pot with the vinegar. My 5.44 lb roast was done to perfection in 3 hours. I admit to peeking 2 times. For gravy I blended the onions until smooth and used 2tbsp flour (for thicker) and 1/2 broth 1/2 water for liquid (more flavor). It was very tasty....next time I may try with red wine like others have suggested. Served with new potatoes and it was a great meal. My kids ate up the meat no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This as written was easy & delish. Meat is fork tender. AMAZING. Will probably add baby carrots & potato's with the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
surprisingly good.....i cooked the meat in the crock pot...and chopped up the onions for the gravy....simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a really good roast recipe. It has been added to my binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morenci, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The meat was very good. The only reason for my medium rating was that I don't understand the need for 6 onions. I sliced all of them, put them in there, and am not sure what their purpose was. I am not a good gravy maker, but I followed the directions for the gravy. I just think 2 or 3 would suffice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States