Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much as it was written, but scaled down a bit because my roast was only 2 pounds. I dinged the review by one star because I did add some extra flavoring. I added 3 large minced garlic cloves to the onions, and browned the roast before cooking the onions and garlic. The other changes I made were basically the same as the recipe, but used for health value. I used Braggs Apple Cider vinegar instead of white vinegar, and garbanzo bean flour for thickening the gravy. I also added 3 crushed bouillon cubes to the water for extra flavor, and some rosemary and thyme. Because my roast was smaller, I used 1 very large onion that I had on hand. I added more water because I am a fan of one-pot meals, and added quartered potatoes and fresh carrots in the last hour. After adding the veggies, I increased the heat to bring it to a boil, and then reduced to low heat to simmer for the remaining time. My family loved this roast. It was moist and very tender. The gravy was flavorful, and the veggies turned out perfect. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I've made a tof of recipes from here but I've never left a review before- this is worthy of my first. I had to prepare this when my boyfriend was out of the house because I just know that if he saw the onions he'd quarantine the kitchen. I told him that it was like rice and if he lifts the lid it ruins it, ha! He LOVED IT and said he can't wait for leftovers! This was delicious, I didnt ad salt or pepper until the end and to be honest it didn't really need it. I also browned the meat first and cooked in the oven (just so he wouldn't peek and see the onions) but other than that I kept it true to the recipe. I will be making this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne DuBose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this for may family and EVERYONE LOVED it!! It's hard to make a meal that everyone loves. I will make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very good. I made it in the crock pot. My family loved it. I didn't use all the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Delicious. I bRowned the meat first, placed it to the side. Placed onions, mushrooms, garlic and red wine vinegar into the pan with salt and pepper. After 10 minutes added the bay leaf and beef broth (1 cup) brought to simmer. Added to a crock pot and placed the beef on top. Let it cook on high for hour, then low for 3more hours. Turned out delicious, not dry at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I took MBrooker's advise and also browned the meat first, didn't have any red wine so I used white, also added garlic a bit more than MBrooker did. Loved the outcome and for tomorrow's dinner I'm going to shred the rest of the meat and add that to the gravy and put over egg noodles. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
So here is my take on the people who get upset because others change a posted recipe...I went looking for a recipe for a bottom round roast that I bought on sale and wasn't sure what to do with. This one caught my eye because I like onions. I read it and then immediately went to the reviews to see if anyone had done it in a crock pot because that's how I wanted to cook mine. As I was reading the original recipe I was already thinking; "add wine because I have some, add herbs de provence because I love them, garlic because I put it in everything....that's what we all do. I appreciate Susan for the recipe and appreciate others just as much for offering alternate suggestions that I can TAKE or LEAVE. This ia a very good recipe just as is but feel free to make it "yours".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was very good, I did add some carrots and garlic to the onions. I cooked it on low for an hour on the stove last night and then put in the oven this morning on 300 degrees and cooked for 4 hours. I don't do flour so after removing the meat and carrots, I made onion soup. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I am a cancer patient going thru chemo and this was delicious! My taste buds do not like much but they liked this. I am making it again. So easy so my limited energy was able to manage it. I added garlic and only 4 onions because that is all I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great. I followed another reviewer's recommendation and used an immersion blender to blend the gravy. Also cooked in the oven for 4 hours at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States