Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good roast! Just like some of the others who've reviewed this recipe- I added some red wine, worchestire sauce, and garlic to the gravy. Also put some baby carrots in the stock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this for a dinner party and it turned out excellent. I made two roasts using this recipe for that party. For the first roast I followed the recipe to the letter, but for the second roast, instead of vinegar, I added red wine. The roast and gravy had an amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Thought this was ok...nothing exciting and the gravy lacked a lot of flavor even after adding garlic and using beef broth. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made a few changes and it turned out awesome! I added some baby bella mushrooms to the onions and I cooked it, as another user suggested, in the oven at 300 degrees for 4 hours. When making the gravy, I added more pepper and some garlic powder. They gravy was perfect! I will be making this one again for sure :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was a tasty roast. I didn't use all the onions but did add fresh mushrooms and used apple cidar vinegar mixed with water. Cooked it in the crockpot on high 4 hours after browning the meat with some salt, pepper, and rosemary for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and juicy (and I peeked inside the pan a few times). The outside was yummy--I browned this first using Tastefully Simple's Balsmic and Basil Dipping Oil and Worchester Sauce. I may marinate it overnight next time prior to browning. I added minced garlic to the onions (1.5 large spanish onions) on the bottom of the pan. Mushrooms would be a good addition, I think. Served it with Quick Cheese Biscuits (recipe on this site), steamed carrots and baked potatoes. I'm stuffed. I used a 2.5 pound roast for the two of us and we have lunch for tomorrow and enough to make soup. Gravy didn't thicken enough--needed more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My roast turned out dry so I think next time I will do this in the crockpot. My gravy wouldn't thicken until I added some cornstarch. I served with roasted brussel sprouts, and two recipes from this site: Mashed Potatoes with Horseradish and Candied Carrots. Cabernet made the meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Excellent - my husband loved it and it tasted like the pot roasts my mom used to make. I also browned roast first and used Mrs. Dash herb seasoning and a little Worcester sauce. Also added chopped garlic with the onions. I can't believe you don't need to add any additional liquid during the 4 hr cooking but it turned out perfect - juicy and tasty. I steamed carrots and threw them in with the broth for about 15 minutes. Gravy was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I cooked this in the crock pot - high for 1.5 hrs, then the rest of the time on low. Was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States