Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I am a novice pot roast maker. I saw a nice looking piece of meat at the store, and bought it. Then, I found this recipe on line. Very easy to make, and I had all the ingredients in my cupboard. The meat was tender and flavorful. Everyone in my family liked it. I also used left overs for tacos, and it was great. Just added some taco seasoning and toppings. Now, I am wondering if I can make a brisket the same way. It worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renata Graef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Good way to cook a lean roast...it was tender but mine was a tad dry. Probably more because of the cut of meat than the recipe. Definitely needs the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My slow cooker broke a couple years ago and I haven't been able to get another one. I like this recipe because I was able to slow cook it on top the stove in a stock pot. Thanks for sharing. This made the house smell terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
So easy! So good! Love the sweet onion gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineheh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was super easy. I used a 2-1/2 pound roast and 4 onions. I added salt, pepper, 3 minced garlic cloves, and some dried thyme while sautéing the onions before I put the roast in. While they were getting ready, I cut little sits all over the roast and stuffed thin slices of garlic inside. Big garlic eaters... I was reading some of the reviews that said it was a little bland, so I added a some auju concentrate and some water about an hour in. I also found some mushrooms in the fridge that were just about to say goodbye, so I threw them in too. Cooked in a Dutch oven, lid on at 350 degrees for 3 hours. When it was done, I whisked in the flour and water, and the onions broke into little pieces and it turned into an absolutely delicious onion gravy. Wasn't dry at all and everyone was loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Blake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and my roast turned out perfect. The onion gravy was spot on and the roast tender and juicy.Everybody loved it. I had to hide the leftovers in the back of the fridge so I can make a hot roast beef sandwich with the little bit that was leftover from dinner last night. My family wants to know when we can have it again. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.-Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Wow, this is a keeper. I went with the first review from Mbrooker and made it exactly how they did and it is just fantastic. I've never had such tender flavorful beef before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was good. Good way to use a cheap cut of beef. Next time I would add a few spices for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Tasted good, but definitely needs some tweaks and adjustments. You want to cut your onion pretty big so it won't burn. I added some flour to both sides of the beef to help thicken the gravy later, then browned each side. Then I also added two cups of chicken broth so that the beef wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rash Dicksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I had purchased a top round roast at the store and wasn't sure how to cook it. I followed the recipe as written, only I didn't brown ithe roast first. My family really enjoyed it! I thought the gravy was delicious. I would definitely recommend this recipe for either a top round or bottom round roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States