Botercake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I grew up in a traditional Dutch family and is one of the most well known traditional Dutch Recipe. It is Boterkoek, not Botercake. Also, I think it is a typo that you bake in in a LOAF pan. You don't - I've never in my life seen it baked in a loaf pan. You bake it in one 10 inch round cake pan. Always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Actually something strange happened to this recipe. In the original recipe I submitted a very long time ago, there were equal quantities of butter, sugar and flour. The measurement of each of these three should be 50 grams per egg. So a 5 egg recipe requires 250 grams butter, 250 grams sugar and 250 grams flour. I'm sure if you try this the result will turn out better! In August I have submitted the recipe for the BOTERKOEK that some of the reviewers here are talking about. BoterKOEK is completely different from BoterCAKE. Unfortunately this recipe is not public yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very good!!! Baked this in a 10-in cake pan so it baked in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This is one of the best cakes to make and eat - it's moist and buttery, with just the right amount of lemon, and everyone who has tried it loves it! If you like getting compliments make this cake for your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This is not truely a cake but a glorified cookie. It's lovely and a highly traditional desert...Most Dutch serve it to guests who visit on birthdays. It is very buttery and sweet and the texture is unusual. (Somewhat greasy and crumbly and moist)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
Only the dutch could make such a beautiful cake.......my family will treasure this recipe forever and continue to enjoy it!!!! You must try this recipe today!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
man, i can't believe more people haven't rated this. what a marvelous cake. i have nothing to add except that i also did a splenda version at my brother's house out of consideration for someone's diet. i doubled and did in a bundt pan and it turned out fine. it baked considerably faster but keep in mind also that this was at altitude (5400 ft). wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Lots of confusion... let me (a Dutch person) explain... First of all: I have no idea what this recipe produces, but the picture looks like "boterkoek". In The Netherlands, we have both "boterkoek" and "botercake". Botercake = pound cake. (A dense, rectangular yellow pound cake, made with butter) Boterkoek = A kind of thick buttery cookie, always round in shape. Very dense. Softer than dutch cookies, little firmer than American cookies usually are. The word 'koek' can mean 'cake' in Dutch (old fashioned), but nowadays almost always means 'cookie'. The word 'cake' is most commonly used in Dutch for pound cakes (the rectangular kind). Large round, frosted cakes like in America are often called "taart" in Dutch, which means "pie". (So used for both round cakes and pies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Someone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
okay, haven't tried this particular recipe, but i'd like to point out that the actual dutch spelling of this recipe is boterkoek, not botercake. koek is dutch for cake. it's a little confusing to have the dutch boter and the english cake mixed up in the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
this is definately a butter cake!! It is so rich but oh so good!! Absolutely beautiful colour and texture. The slight lemon flavour enhances it even more. I will make this cake again but not until I lose the pounds put on by this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States