Botercake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
Only the dutch could make such a beautiful cake.......my family will treasure this recipe forever and continue to enjoy it!!!! You must try this recipe today!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This is not truely a cake but a glorified cookie. It's lovely and a highly traditional desert...Most Dutch serve it to guests who visit on birthdays. It is very buttery and sweet and the texture is unusual. (Somewhat greasy and crumbly and moist)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This is one of the best cakes to make and eat - it's moist and buttery, with just the right amount of lemon, and everyone who has tried it loves it! If you like getting compliments make this cake for your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
man, i can't believe more people haven't rated this. what a marvelous cake. i have nothing to add except that i also did a splenda version at my brother's house out of consideration for someone's diet. i doubled and did in a bundt pan and it turned out fine. it baked considerably faster but keep in mind also that this was at altitude (5400 ft). wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
this is definately a butter cake!! It is so rich but oh so good!! Absolutely beautiful colour and texture. The slight lemon flavour enhances it even more. I will make this cake again but not until I lose the pounds put on by this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
It's wonderful, as mentioned the texture is unusual but the taste is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very good!!! Baked this in a 10-in cake pan so it baked in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
okay, haven't tried this particular recipe, but i'd like to point out that the actual dutch spelling of this recipe is boterkoek, not botercake. koek is dutch for cake. it's a little confusing to have the dutch boter and the english cake mixed up in the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I grew up in a traditional Dutch family and is one of the most well known traditional Dutch Recipe. It is Boterkoek, not Botercake. Also, I think it is a typo that you bake in in a LOAF pan. You don't - I've never in my life seen it baked in a loaf pan. You bake it in one 10 inch round cake pan. Always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Delicious...you can also omit the lemon and add a few teaspoons of almond extract :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States