Botercake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Actually something strange happened to this recipe. In the original recipe I submitted a very long time ago, there were equal quantities of butter, sugar and flour. The measurement of each of these three should be 50 grams per egg. So a 5 egg recipe requires 250 grams butter, 250 grams sugar and 250 grams flour. I'm sure if you try this the result will turn out better! In August I have submitted the recipe for the BOTERKOEK that some of the reviewers here are talking about. BoterKOEK is completely different from BoterCAKE. Unfortunately this recipe is not public yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I'm from Germany and I love our buttercake there, so I was somewhat exited to find a recipe and try this (dutch) recipe. Unfortunately it turned out pretty dry and bland in my opinion. My guests liked it and I will make it again for them (also the rating is for them - I would have given it only 3 stars). I'm looking forward to get some hints here to improve the cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Delicious...you can also omit the lemon and add a few teaspoons of almond extract :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I grew up in a traditional Dutch family and is one of the most well known traditional Dutch Recipe. It is Boterkoek, not Botercake. Also, I think it is a typo that you bake in in a LOAF pan. You don't - I've never in my life seen it baked in a loaf pan. You bake it in one 10 inch round cake pan. Always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
okay, haven't tried this particular recipe, but i'd like to point out that the actual dutch spelling of this recipe is boterkoek, not botercake. koek is dutch for cake. it's a little confusing to have the dutch boter and the english cake mixed up in the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very good!!! Baked this in a 10-in cake pan so it baked in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
It's wonderful, as mentioned the texture is unusual but the taste is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
this is definately a butter cake!! It is so rich but oh so good!! Absolutely beautiful colour and texture. The slight lemon flavour enhances it even more. I will make this cake again but not until I lose the pounds put on by this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
man, i can't believe more people haven't rated this. what a marvelous cake. i have nothing to add except that i also did a splenda version at my brother's house out of consideration for someone's diet. i doubled and did in a bundt pan and it turned out fine. it baked considerably faster but keep in mind also that this was at altitude (5400 ft). wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This is one of the best cakes to make and eat - it's moist and buttery, with just the right amount of lemon, and everyone who has tried it loves it! If you like getting compliments make this cake for your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States