Botercake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great. I made it like this: 3 eggs, 100-200g sugar, add vanilla sugar, beat them well together. Add 200g melted butter. Add the flour and baking powder and lemon (orange) peels. Bake time: +/- 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I would recommend making it with a fluted edge tart pan with a loose bottom. This give a very nice appreance to the back of pie shaped boterkoek when cut. I also grew up with Boterkoek as one of my favorites for Birthdays... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Even if the Dutch lost the world cup, I sure looked good baking this cake. I added a bit more lemon zest and just used regular vanilla vs vanilla sugar. My oven is new to me (just moved) so the baking time/temp was off, but I know that was just technical, people loved this cake. And called it pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this once with the exact ingredients called for, and once altering the them per a reviewer -- both came out great but different in texture and height (I used extra large eggs in both recipes and a 9" cakepan). The first time I baked it for 40 minutes with the exact ingredients called for. It came out cakelike in a fluffy texture, buttery, and lemony. After the first 20 minutes baking, I put 12 whole almonds all around the edge with the point toward the middle, which gave it a pretty decoration when I sliced it up. The second time I made it, I used the ingredients from a reviewer -- with 1 1/8 cups each of flour, sugar, and butter. This one turned out very moist, much more dense and about 1.5" high. I believe to get more of a cookie consistency you'd definitely have to use a 10" cake pan. I didn't have any vanilla sugar, so I mixed 1/4 tsp liquid vanilla with 1/2 cup granulated sugar and will use the leftovers for another recipe. Both ways preparing this were really good. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong. The cake looks great and tastes fine but it is very dry. The only way we could eat it is with some strawberries and milk poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Lots of confusion... let me (a Dutch person) explain... First of all: I have no idea what this recipe produces, but the picture looks like "boterkoek". In The Netherlands, we have both "boterkoek" and "botercake". Botercake = pound cake. (A dense, rectangular yellow pound cake, made with butter) Boterkoek = A kind of thick buttery cookie, always round in shape. Very dense. Softer than dutch cookies, little firmer than American cookies usually are. The word 'koek' can mean 'cake' in Dutch (old fashioned), but nowadays almost always means 'cookie'. The word 'cake' is most commonly used in Dutch for pound cakes (the rectangular kind). Large round, frosted cakes like in America are often called "taart" in Dutch, which means "pie". (So used for both round cakes and pies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Someone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was SOOO yummy. The lemon is very subtle and, reading the other reviews, this, IS a cake. I used the measurements given by Hanneke in her comment, since they were changed by the website. I think she put them in metric. Her original recipe apparently required 250 grams each of butter, sugar and flour. If you calculate, this is 1.1 cups of each. I just used 1 1/8 cup each of butter, sugar and flour and it came out moist and tasty. 2 cups of flour would probably make it pretty dry! Thanks for the recipe Hanneke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
It's just O.K. You will not be missing anything if you do not make this one. It is not bad but it's not worth the wait (60 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
The metric conversion of ingredient amounts from the original recipe submission were updated by the Allrecipes Staff on 10/19/2007.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Not at all like the boterkoek I grew up eating. I wanted to surprise my Mom with this on her 82nd birthday, but it was just ordinary cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States