Boston Cream Pie Minis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These are WONDERFUL. I was really shocked by how good and how easy these were. I used Mini cupcake tins and baked for only 10 minutes. They came out perfect and were absolutely perfect for the finger food dessert tray I was making for my sisters Graduation party. Everyone went on and on about how good everything was. Definitely a 5 star recipe. The only difference I made was that I doubled the filling (and had just about enough with a little left over) and I used one package of vanilla and one package of french vanilla and it tasted just like boston cream pie filling. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Easy! Baked them in my mini muffin pans for the real mini version..Make sure to spray your pans. Put the filling a disposable decorating bag and squeezed out the filling onto each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent! These are simple to make, but they can be a tiny bit time consuming to assemble. The first time I tried this recipe, I used Butter Golden cake (a huge NO-NO), as that cake's texture was all kinds of wrong for this recipe. As long as you're sure to use Yellow Cake mix, it's all good. I sprayed the cupcake pan very well with a "baking" oil spray, and used the dry cake mix to sprinkle into the cupcake wells. I only filled half way, in fear of overly poofy cupcakes that happened with the Golden Butter mix! I could have filled 2/3 way as the recipe on the box stated. And I know, please don't hate me, but I changed some of the recipe around a bit, to preference. I did not use the custard part of this recipe because I like whipped cream filling - and whipped up some fresh heavy cream without adding any sugar. Instead of the ganache type icing (I was out of cream after using it for the filling, and forgetting to save some), I used the chocolate icing recipe from Eclairs II. It's 2 TB butter, 2 oz. semi-sweet chocolate (melt together over low-heat), add a teaspoon of vanilla, 1 cup of powdered sugar (mix well), and add one teaspoon of hot water while continuing to mix over low heat, until consistency is spreadable but not watered down (max 3 teaspoons). Side note: This mini Boston Cream Pie recipe works great in a mini-muffin pan, too! Just bake it for a shorter amount of time/toothpick test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Oh how I wish I hadn't made these! I cannot stop eating them!!! The frosting is so surprising...I had no idea how it would turn out, but it's thick and fudgy! I made these in my mini muffin pan- mouth sized bites of deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These turned out pretty good and were *exactly* what I was looking for! My son asked for these specifically when I said he could take any cupcake to school for his birthday - weird kid! Although the chocolate was good - it WAS chocolate after all, I would make it richer next time and that is the only reason it is not 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Turned out perfectly. I have never made a chocolate glaze using whipped topping, so I was a little nervous. But it set up well as it cooled. I put it on still a little warm so that the icing would drip down the sides a little. I also put the filling in a piping bag, which made it very easy to apply to the bottom of the cupcake. My kids loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Yum!!! I followed exactly, using french vanilla cake mix, fat free cool whip, and about 1/2 cup chocolate chips in place of 4 square of chocolate. I greased the muffin tin liberally with butter Pam spray and they came out very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I used two 9-inch round pans and got two pies out of it. I was able to use the same amount of pudding but needed to the chocolate frosting to have it stretch far enough for both cakes. I cut the cakes in half horizontally and put the pudding in the middle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Super pretty for an event/party. Overall taste is okay. They are good but not great. Would possibly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These were so good and easy to make. The only thing I'll do different next time is the chocolate on top. Maybe condensed milk and chocolate chips would be better. The chocolate got hard in the fridge and it made it hard to bite them. Overall the taste was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States