Boston Cream Pie Minis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These are excellent! First time I made as directed, but second time I used Rainbow bit cake mix, to give it a little color. My kids and husband ate them and they were in heaven! Family Fav forever:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These little guys were awesome!! I made them in mini-cupcake trays and got at least 50 out of the batch. Cooking time varied, but I checked them at 12 minutes and just eyed it after that. They definitely taste best after being refrigerated for a bit. I made these for a party and the response was huge... I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merkelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Super pretty for an event/party. Overall taste is okay. They are good but not great. Would possibly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
BEST. CUPCAKES. EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
These turned out delicious! They were very easy to make as well. I used fat free pudding and cool whip and it turned out just fine. I also used dark chocolate to give a little more "bite". It was awesome and they were all gone before I could even get seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. They're especially tasty after chilling for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Worked great as a picnic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent! These are simple to make, but they can be a tiny bit time consuming to assemble. The first time I tried this recipe, I used Butter Golden cake (a huge NO-NO), as that cake's texture was all kinds of wrong for this recipe. As long as you're sure to use Yellow Cake mix, it's all good. I sprayed the cupcake pan very well with a "baking" oil spray, and used the dry cake mix to sprinkle into the cupcake wells. I only filled half way, in fear of overly poofy cupcakes that happened with the Golden Butter mix! I could have filled 2/3 way as the recipe on the box stated. And I know, please don't hate me, but I changed some of the recipe around a bit, to preference. I did not use the custard part of this recipe because I like whipped cream filling - and whipped up some fresh heavy cream without adding any sugar. Instead of the ganache type icing (I was out of cream after using it for the filling, and forgetting to save some), I used the chocolate icing recipe from Eclairs II. It's 2 TB butter, 2 oz. semi-sweet chocolate (melt together over low-heat), add a teaspoon of vanilla, 1 cup of powdered sugar (mix well), and add one teaspoon of hot water while continuing to mix over low heat, until consistency is spreadable but not watered down (max 3 teaspoons). Side note: This mini Boston Cream Pie recipe works great in a mini-muffin pan, too! Just bake it for a shorter amount of time/toothpick test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I used two 9-inch round pans and got two pies out of it. I was able to use the same amount of pudding but needed to the chocolate frosting to have it stretch far enough for both cakes. I cut the cakes in half horizontally and put the pudding in the middle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made these for Father's Day! My husband LOVES Boston Cream pie but a full cake is hard to set up. I enjoyed the ease of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States