Boston Cream Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I can only rate the filling and glaze. I used a cake mix instead of the cake recipe. I cooked the cake in loaf pans instead of a round pan. I used the filling and chocolate glaze recipe. I doubled the chocolate glaze recipe and it covered the tops of the cakes and drizzled down the sides. It was enjoyed by all at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
The cakes tasted like bisquik pancakes, the frosting was too rich for my taste, and the custard was very tedious to make. It ended up as a lovely cake with horrid taste that just wasn't worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Less of a review right now, and more of a question. 3 egg yolks are listed twice on the recipe ingredient list...are 3 yolks supposed to be incorporated into the batter? I made it without the three yolks, and it baked fine, and the cake tastes good, but it seems pale and a little dense. Would adding the 3 yolks make a positive difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I used 4 egg whites with 2 yolks. I replaced the filling with vanilla pudding which saved alot of time. And added a crust with 1 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I would suggest using yellow cake mix, and a vanilla custard pudding and topping with the satiny chocolate glaze from this site. Much easier and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I used a different cake recipe and this pastry cream recipe. Blah! Not thick enough by any means. It seeped out the side and ran all over the place. It was ugly, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Not bad, not bad at all. The glaze was a bit too runny, but thats easily adjustable. Will make it again,,,, when I have time and energy,,lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy81
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I made this at my work, and it came out beautiful, and sold out right away! I have never even baked a cake from scratch before! Soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy81

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I followed instructions exactly for the pudding, but mine is thick, but not thick enough to stand up a layer of cake by itself. It tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
the center was a bit of a mess, though it tasted fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States