Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
this is delicious with fresh blueberries sprinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Light and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Madethis in my doughnut molds instead. Not my favorite taste in the world (never have been) but great for kids and guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
the only good thing was the icing, and it was mearly ok. the cake is dry, and a strange texture. the custard was flavorless and way to thick, i will never make it again! i bake ALL the time, and will make up my own recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made the whole thing from scratch and it turned out great....except the filling. the eggs should be EGG YOLKS I put in the whole egg for the filling and it ended up with a lumpy (almost scrambled) texture....other than that it was a fantastic cake. Make sure it's been chilling for a long time, pair it with some ice cream and you are set! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This rating pertains only to the icing... I used a different cake and filling recipe, but this ganache was HEAVENLY. So delicious. I doubled the recipe for a 9 inch 2 layer cake and had a nice thick fudgy layer of ganache on top. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
To simplify, I used a yellow cake mix for the cake, baked in 2, 8 inch rounds. After the cake cooled, I cut the rounds into half, giving me 4 layers. I doubled the chocolate and custard to give me enough to cover the layers, alternating with Custard, Chocolate, Custard, and top covered in chocolate. It came out much more moist as each layer was generously drenched in the vanilla cream/custard or chocolate. Was a great hit with my husband.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Filling was a little lumpy and wasn't enough to know it was there once cake was ready to eat. Chocolate topping came out better than I though it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I also bypassed the scratch cake and went with boxed yellow cake mix. VERY IMPORTANT!!...after cooking custard put a sheet of buttered wax paper directly on top of cooling custard. Otherwise, it develops a layer of "skin" that will make the resulting custard lumpy after it cools. Otherwise, it was tasty and frosting is great and easy to make too. I used chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My son-in-law requested a Boston Cream Pie for his birthday dessert. I was TOTALLY embarrassed because this was without a doubt the WORST dessert I have ever made. The cake was dry and tasteless. The pudding filling was tasteless and barely covered the cake. The only redeeming quality of the cake was the frosting....it was delicious. That is the only reason that I can even give the recipe one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States