Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I took the advice of fellow reviewers and use boxed yellow cake...this pie turned out fantastic!! I prepared it for Turkey Day and had rave reviews from the parents, husband, and in-laws! I followed the cream and icing as stated on this recipe and couldn't have been happier with the turn out!! Thanks for an easy, yummy, recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was excellent! I, like others, used a cake mix (Pilsbury Plus Butter Yellow Cake Mix..which was fantastic). The only change I made was that I added 3 drops of Almond Extract to the filling. I will make this recipe over and over again. JUST MARVELOUS! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I was really craving this dessert for some reason. And, I liked that the entire cake was made from scratch, so I decided to try it. I really liked the taste of the filling and the chocolate topping. The cake I thought didn't have a lot of flavor. I thought that I might make again in the future and make a homemade sponge cake keeping everything else the same. But, by the next day the cake tasted better. It may have been more dense to hold the cream. I wasn't sure what light cream was, so I used heavy cream I had in the fridge and it worked fine. Some people mentioned that they thought the pudding was lumpy, but mine turned out alright. I noticed it was actually a pastry cream which is thicker and less smooth anyway. If it wasn't I would have just ran it through a sieve. I measured out 3 oz of semi-sweet choc. chips on my kitchen scale and it came out to be 1/3 of a cup packed very tightly. The cake only fills about 1" of both pans before baked, but is a good thickness. I cooked everything on low (3) and had no problems. I made a design on top after a Boston Cream Pie recipe on another site. I enjoyed trying the recipe. Cake taste better the next day, be patient. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
My family says this is the best cake they have ever eaten! Instead of making the cakes by scratch I cheated and used box cake mix. I also cut each layer in two so there are 4 layers of cake and 3 layers of custard. Marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This cake was delicious! I must admit that I made the process easier by bypassing the "cake from scratch" part and substituted a Duncan Hines Yellow cake mix instead ... much easier and I'm sure just as yummy. I did have trouble trying to figure out what "light cream" was. Didn't have anything like that in my grocery store ... I ended up buying something called "table cream" which turns out to be light cream with some sodium. I ommited the pinch of salt for the filling since cream already had. Otherwise, the icing was superb and it was easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I made this to take to work as a going away treat for a friend moving to Boston. I cheated and made a yellow cake mix in a sheet cake pan, turned it out, and (once it cooled) cut it in half with a piece of string down the center. I then put the bottom half back in (carefully!) and made this cream recipe, I had to quadruple it to get enough, but it was very good. I then put the top half of the cake on, and made a triple batch of this glaze and poured it on top. I had to add a little extra powdered sugar though to cut the tart semisweet taste. After the glaze hardened in the fridge I took some of the custard/filling I had saved, put it in a baggie, kneaded it with my hands, snipped off a corner and then drizzled it over the top of the cake to make it prettier. The end result, it was delicious and beautiful! Tasted just like from a restaurant only it served way more people. A coworker loved the custard filling so much, she ate four pieces (ha ha!) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This review is for the frosting only. Like others, I cheated and used a cake mix and jello pudding as filling. But the frosting came out beautifully! It was fortunate that I actually had the semisweet baking squares. I wonder how it would turn out if you had to sub chocolate chips? I didn't have any cream so I used whole milk instead and it worked just fine. So easy and so fancy looking with the smooth frosting. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I used a yellow cake mix. This turned out really well. The filling was the best. I would so make this another time it was wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
After reading reviews of all recipes for this cake I chose this one as I am not an experienced cook. I used a Duncan Hines box yellow cake. I was not successful making the custard - it was lumpy and made very little, but it had good flavor so I mixed in a box of vanilla pudding made with 1 1/4 cups of milk (that I had pre-made for back-up). This smoothed the custard, and gave me the quanity I was looking for. I followed the glaze directions exactly and everyone loved this cake (I made it for my husband's birthday dinner party). When I make it again (and I definitely will), I will follow the suggestion of one reviewer and cut the two cakes in half giving 4 layers. I will double the custard and the glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this cake to celebrate my first wedding anniversary and me and my husband both loved it! I read the previous reviews for this dessert and since everyone who actually made the cake said it didn't turn out well, I made a different cake from a recipe book. (also, boston cream pie is usually a 1 layer cake cut in half, not a two layer cake, it would make it too thick I'd think) Anyway, the custard turned out very well. It had a very mild flavor to it and wasn't too sweet like some puddings. I thought it tasted great with the chocolate. I actually messed up the glaze and only put in half as much sugar as it called for but it ended up turning out just fine, and more glaze like than this picture indicates. I think I'll do it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States