Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this cake as written. I compared it to other recipes to be sure it was correct. It came out great, although it is a bit time consuming. Do not use a store bought cake mix if you want an authentic Boston Cream Pie. It calls for a sponge or butter cake, which is denser than the fluffy layer cake, and there is less volume. Be careful when you make substitutions - those who commented that there wasn't enough filling or frosting probably had too much cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Recipe presentation does not separate ingredients with the different parts of the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
this boston cream pie tasted so good! but when i assembled the cake my glaze was too thick and my cream was too runny. i knew something was wrong with my custard. i read a few reviews and since a lot of them said the cake was dry i decided to use this great recipe i found on a different website. the taste of this cake was great! the appearance of this cake was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this for a friend and he absolutely loved it! A lot of work but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Interesting to me that no one made their own cake. CHEATERS! making things from scratch is so much better, then you can say it's all yours! LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made this entire recipe from scratch. The cake was not dry at ALL, there was enough batter to fill up two 9 inch cake pans, the filling and frosting were wonderful, and the end result was one crazy-good pie that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Thank you for including the scratch cake recipe - I could never use a box cake ( have you ever read the ingredients ? yuck ) It did take a few extra minutes to prep - but it was worth it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebInOH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This cake was tough and dry. The chocolate and cream are good but not enough to compensate for the dry cake. If you are looking to make Boston Cream Pie from scratch, use a different yellow cake recipe and you will enjoy it much more, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Next time I will double the recipe and triple the amount of custard - was not enough. Cake was dry so I might poke holes in cake and let hot custard fall through, then add custard on top of that. The cakes were too low therefore I will stack 4 cakes with extra filling. I thought the filling was delicious although mine was runnier than shown on picture. I will also double the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The custard turned out kind of lumpy, I think next time I'll have to sift the cornstarch in. But the taste of it was very good. The chocloate topping was good as well and I used chocolate chips instead of the semisweet blocks without any issues. The cake itself was very dry. I'm going to try making a Boston Cream Pie again, but I think I'll try one of the other recipes on here. The "Boston Cream Pie II" is slightly different with shortening in the cake, which may help with making the cake more moist. Overall the recipe wasn't bad, but the cake was just way too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvToBake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States