Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My son-in-law requested a Boston Cream Pie for his birthday dessert. I was TOTALLY embarrassed because this was without a doubt the WORST dessert I have ever made. The cake was dry and tasteless. The pudding filling was tasteless and barely covered the cake. The only redeeming quality of the cake was the frosting....it was delicious. That is the only reason that I can even give the recipe one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made two of these cakes yesterday for my mother and her twin's 60th birthday. First, the cake layers were only about a half an inch high. The cake was so dry that when I went to cut it for the first time, it was actually tough. I followed the directions exactly for the custard and the custard has the consistency of eggnog, way to runny. After three attempts at the custard, I tossed all the bathches down the sink and I ran out to the grocery store and repalced it with vanilla instant pudding. It tasted better than the "custard milk" in flavor and had the right consistency. As for the icing, it did have wonderful flavor and if there is anything good about this recipe, it is the icing. It was lumpy in apprearance from the convection sugar being added at the end, but tasted great and poured nicely over the cake and sides. I will make a Boston Cream Pie again, but I will not be using this recipe. With all my Publix runs, these two cakes ended up taking me 4 hours to make and I was late to their birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this cake as written. I compared it to other recipes to be sure it was correct. It came out great, although it is a bit time consuming. Do not use a store bought cake mix if you want an authentic Boston Cream Pie. It calls for a sponge or butter cake, which is denser than the fluffy layer cake, and there is less volume. Be careful when you make substitutions - those who commented that there wasn't enough filling or frosting probably had too much cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Recipe presentation does not separate ingredients with the different parts of the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
this boston cream pie tasted so good! but when i assembled the cake my glaze was too thick and my cream was too runny. i knew something was wrong with my custard. i read a few reviews and since a lot of them said the cake was dry i decided to use this great recipe i found on a different website. the taste of this cake was great! the appearance of this cake was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this for a friend and he absolutely loved it! A lot of work but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Interesting to me that no one made their own cake. CHEATERS! making things from scratch is so much better, then you can say it's all yours! LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made this entire recipe from scratch. The cake was not dry at ALL, there was enough batter to fill up two 9 inch cake pans, the filling and frosting were wonderful, and the end result was one crazy-good pie that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Thank you for including the scratch cake recipe - I could never use a box cake ( have you ever read the ingredients ? yuck ) It did take a few extra minutes to prep - but it was worth it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebInOH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This cake was tough and dry. The chocolate and cream are good but not enough to compensate for the dry cake. If you are looking to make Boston Cream Pie from scratch, use a different yellow cake recipe and you will enjoy it much more, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States