Boston Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this for my mom's birthday by request, and this cake all but flew off the plate and everyone seemed to love it. I did have some problems with getting the chocolate sauce to thicken like I wanted, but I ended up chilling the sauce overnight and then microwaving it for a minute or so he next morning. This seemed to fix the problem, and it drizzled and dripped beautifully. This was my first time making a Boston Creme Pie, but I will be keeping this recipe to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
this is delicious with fresh blueberries sprinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Light and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Madethis in my doughnut molds instead. Not my favorite taste in the world (never have been) but great for kids and guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
the only good thing was the icing, and it was mearly ok. the cake is dry, and a strange texture. the custard was flavorless and way to thick, i will never make it again! i bake ALL the time, and will make up my own recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made the whole thing from scratch and it turned out great....except the filling. the eggs should be EGG YOLKS I put in the whole egg for the filling and it ended up with a lumpy (almost scrambled) texture....other than that it was a fantastic cake. Make sure it's been chilling for a long time, pair it with some ice cream and you are set! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This rating pertains only to the icing... I used a different cake and filling recipe, but this ganache was HEAVENLY. So delicious. I doubled the recipe for a 9 inch 2 layer cake and had a nice thick fudgy layer of ganache on top. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
To simplify, I used a yellow cake mix for the cake, baked in 2, 8 inch rounds. After the cake cooled, I cut the rounds into half, giving me 4 layers. I doubled the chocolate and custard to give me enough to cover the layers, alternating with Custard, Chocolate, Custard, and top covered in chocolate. It came out much more moist as each layer was generously drenched in the vanilla cream/custard or chocolate. Was a great hit with my husband.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Filling was a little lumpy and wasn't enough to know it was there once cake was ready to eat. Chocolate topping came out better than I though it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I also bypassed the scratch cake and went with boxed yellow cake mix. VERY IMPORTANT!!...after cooking custard put a sheet of buttered wax paper directly on top of cooling custard. Otherwise, it develops a layer of "skin" that will make the resulting custard lumpy after it cools. Otherwise, it was tasty and frosting is great and easy to make too. I used chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States