Boston Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I thought this was really good. My husband didn't think that it tasted like real boston cream cheesecake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is my first review. I read all the reviews before making this cake. I made it for the first time for our Day before Thanksgiving dinner. It was absolutely amazing. Only thing is that everything was really not set in the center. No one cared, but once we cut into it, it looked more like a cream cake (or pie) than a firm cake with a firm cheesecake layer above (maybe that's why it's called Boston CREAM). I guess I would cook everything a little longer next time. I would absolutely make this again. It was beautiful and not too hard at all. I took one reviewer's excellent advice and cooled every layer before starting the next one. Each layer is easy to create. I cooked cake for 15 mins (will go for 25 next time), and both layers for 45 (will probably do an hour next time). Also, note, the chocolate layer WILL SLIDE, even after being in the fridge for 6 hours or so. Thank you so much for posting this!! A total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This cheesecake makes you look like a professional chef, and it really is a simple process. I made a regular sized box cake mix and just poured 1/2 into the springform pan - then made the rest into cupcakes. I baked for about 20 minutes. I let this cool completely, like 8 hours. Then made the cream cheese filling as stated and baked for almost an hour. I let this cool and then chilled in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning I made the chocolate glaze, spread it onto the cake and returned to the refrigerator. I was taking this to a potluck and I removed it from the refrigerator about 1/2 hour before leaving. It softened just enough to be creamy and the chocolate wasn't hardened at all. It went over very well and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This cheesecake is amazing. It is the perfect balance of cake, cheesecake and chocolate but it is very rich. I used half a regular cake mix for the bottom layer and baked it until it was just barely solid (maybe 15 min?). I used light cream cheese, fat-free sour cream and 2 eggs and 1 egg worth of egg beaters to make the cheesecake portion a little healthier (I bet you could use applesauce in the cake but I didn't think about it until after). I let everything cool completely before I put the icing on. It was delicious and everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, the cake was so dry, Boston Cream is one of my favorites, this one just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was really good. I didn't like after it was refridgerated the chocolate topping got really hard and broke off from the cheesecake and the center was a little soggy, that might have been my fault. I followed everything exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Made this for my mom's birthday. Everyone seemed to enjoyed it. I think if I make it again I will use a 10 in. springform pan. I started with a 9 in. and used half of the cake mix, but if I had added the cheesecake mix, it would have overflowed, so used the second half of the cake mix in a 10 in. pan. Also will bake longer than 45 min., the cheesecake was not firm in the middle. Can't decide if I am crazy about the cake/cheesecake combo, but may give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I loved it! I made this and took it to school with me and it was a HUGE hit with the teachers, too. I didn't change anything except I only had a regular sized vanilla cake and I made it according to directions, and then only used half of it. The other half my kids enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This would be 5 stars except that I did not like the chocolate topping, it had a bitter tang to it. Also, I do not recommend underbaking the cheesecake, unless you want to risk getting food poisoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Cupcake Puddingpants
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My personal favorite! I've made this several times with the Jiffy 9oz cake mix (it is on the dry side) but found just making a whole batch of the regular 18 oz (and using 1/2) yellow cake mix is moister. I waaay undercook the cake at first...just enough so the cake supports the cheesecake mixture. It is really, really moist this way. It is a little wasteful, unless you are like me and will bake the remaining cake mix and snack on that while your cheescake sets!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Puddingpants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States