Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
My son loves boston cream pie so I tried this cake for his birthday. It was great. I used less milk in the pudding (1c.) might try 1&1/2c. next time. Chilled the pudding first and the cakes before putting together. I also sliced the rounded top off the bottom cake so pudding would sit nicely. French vanilla instant pudding gives it the custard effect. Extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
WOW!!!! THIS CAKE WAS AWESOME!!!!!! IT was just Devoured!!! Using one cup of milk in pudding is CRUICIAL! As is letting the pudding and cake cool completely. The pudding turns stiff, kinda like Mousse or Flan. That makes it PERFECT for spreading between layers. I LOVED THIS CAKE!!! THANKS!! New Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Not only is this recipe easy - It tastes great! I used French Vanilla cake mix and pudding because that's what I had. I also used only 1Cup milk - I think I could have used 1 1/4 and had a little more pudding, but it worked out fine. The key is to make sure EVERYTHING is cool. I put the cake and pudding in the fridge before assembling. With the cake cold the icing cooled quickly and set easily on the cake instead of just drizzling off the cake and onto the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Was delicious!! you HAVE to chill the pudding, and the cake. I cut the milk to 1 1/2c. And this worked out perfectly! I made it for valentines day in a heart shaped cake pan. Placed on a cake platter, and drizzled melted choc. around the plate- looks wonderful! (and taste's wonderful too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe was a great hit. When I was leveling off the bottom cake, my husband asked me to carve out some so I could fit more pudding inside. I did, and it was really yummy, the only thing I would suggest is to make sure not to carve to close to the edges so the outside 'wall' doesn't break and the pudding leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I just made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday. I have to say... I really was a bit hesistant to make it. The "bad" reviews it got scared me a little. However, I took my chances and I am so glad I didn't let those "bad" reviews deter me. The only piece of advise I can give is to TAKE YOUR TIME. If you follow the directions and take your time measuring out everything, you cannot mess this cake up. I baked the cakes, made the pudding (only used 1 1/4 cup of cold skim milk), waited for the cakes to cool completely. Then I assembled the cake with the pudding (not messy at all). I bought the new microwavable frosting and poured it ALL over the top of the cake and then slowly spread the frosting to drip off of the edges. It looked silly so I just frosted the sides perfectly and added some colorful sprinkles. LOOKS PERFECT. The only reason I gave it four starts was because I haven't tried it yet. It might appear delicious, but I never judge a book by it's cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I thought it was great and I made it for my family and they thought it was great and i'm only 11 and just learning how to cook the directions were easy to follow and I loved it and it is fast becoming a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This cake was so good I could barely keep it in the house. Everyone wanted some. My husband loves boston cream doughnuts and just adored this cake. A little advice, keep everything refrigerated even the cakes until you are ready to put it together. Definetly heat the frosting in the microwave for a minuet and then pour over the cake. Make sure the cake is on a big enough dish so the frosting doesn't go everywhere. Also cut the pudding down to 1 cup of milk. I gave it 4 stars because it is a little messy but if you keep it cold it comes out perfect. Just make sure to refrigerate cake when you are done! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Easy to make, presents well. I used (it's what I had) 2 - 3.4 oz pkg of Vanilla pudding. I didn't spread all of the pudding in, due to I thought it may be overkill... I should've put all that pudding in there. Yep, I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Maxie29 got it just right....I followed her suggestions (less milk in the pudding and let it set a while) and the pudding stood up to the cake. I let the cake sit a while too, and frosted the top while it was totally stable in the counter before I put it on top of the wiggling pudding. It ain't exactly home made from scratch, but then, it wasn't nearly as hard either...definately worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States