Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was very good and easy to do. I used 2 cups of milk with the pudding mixture and it came out great! I tried 1 cup the first time and that was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I had the hardest time with this cake for some reason. I burnt the first two cakes, I undercooked the second two cakes, finally the third two cakes came out right. By then the pudding had set overnight, I had prepared that per the box instructions. The top cake fell apart when I put it on the pudding. The whole cake just seemed very "boxy" tasting to me. I will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
What a nightmare. Taste is fine but such a huge mess it is not presentable for the party that is planned. I baked according to directions, exactly, except I only used 1 cup milk in pudding. I waited for cake to cool, it was very cool and so was pudding. After pouring frosting on top it fell apart from there. Will not attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I thought it was great and I made it for my family and they thought it was great and i'm only 11 and just learning how to cook the directions were easy to follow and I loved it and it is fast becoming a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good but messy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
WOW!!!! THIS CAKE WAS AWESOME!!!!!! IT was just Devoured!!! Using one cup of milk in pudding is CRUICIAL! As is letting the pudding and cake cool completely. The pudding turns stiff, kinda like Mousse or Flan. That makes it PERFECT for spreading between layers. I LOVED THIS CAKE!!! THANKS!! New Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is a recipe that I will make again. I found this recipe when I was craving a decent dessert and wasn't disappointed. As others suggested, I cut down the milk to 1 c. and it turned out nicely. I like that it is relatively simple to make and uses things that you might already have on hand. It winds up being pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
As suggested I made the pudding with just one cup of milk and refrigerated it while the cake was baking. I refrigerated the cake too just to be safe. It was great! I didn't have any trouble icing it or keeping it together. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is a great recipe. Makes for a fast, delicious, even classy dessert. It looks beautiful and tastes great. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This cake was so good I could barely keep it in the house. Everyone wanted some. My husband loves boston cream doughnuts and just adored this cake. A little advice, keep everything refrigerated even the cakes until you are ready to put it together. Definetly heat the frosting in the microwave for a minuet and then pour over the cake. Make sure the cake is on a big enough dish so the frosting doesn't go everywhere. Also cut the pudding down to 1 cup of milk. I gave it 4 stars because it is a little messy but if you keep it cold it comes out perfect. Just make sure to refrigerate cake when you are done! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States