Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I have to give this a 5 star rating. The taste was excellent. Very moist. I made it for my hubby and father for Father's day. They said they want me to definitely make again for the 4th of July. The only bad thing is you have to be careful with the pudding. I used about 3/4 of the prepared pudding and it still ran down the sides making the cake a little messy. So use half or buy a smaller package of pudding. But still I gave a 5 for moistness and taste. Thanks for the recipe!!!! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This cake was great I did alter it though do to picky kids. I use a cake extender recipe(big family)and added 1 vanilla pudding snack cup, melted the chocolate icing in microwave and used a spoon to drizzle and an angle kinda looks like the boston creme snack cake I served it hot DELICIOUS!!!! no pic cause they just couldn't wait. My husband is a pie lover and he absolutely loved it THANKS:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I've been making this for 20+yrs.My mother-in-law used to buy the packaged version of this.It inspired me to create my own version as you never seem to get enough filling or frosting in the package.I bake a yellow cake cake as directed on the package in 2 round pans and only use one for this recipe(my boys aren't pudding lovers so I frost the remaining cake with the remaining frosting)I have found that using both cakes makes it too top heavy and squishes the filling out.For the filling I use Jello brand Vanilla pudding 153g size(6 Serv)with 2 1/4 cups milk and 1/2 tsp vanilla.I have used store brands but they always seem to taste like the packaging.I only buy skim milk so I mix 2c milk and 1/4c cream to make it creamier.Skim works but if you are going to eat cake............. I use approx. 2/3 on the tub of frosting.Careful not to heat for too long or it will end up pooling on the platter.I recently made this for a large group.I rented a large pan and tripled the recipe.It was a challenge to assemble but well worth the effort.It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was great! And easy. I also tried the opposite, chocolate cake with vanilla pudding and vanilla frosting. It was also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Easy to make, presents well. I used (it's what I had) 2 - 3.4 oz pkg of Vanilla pudding. I didn't spread all of the pudding in, due to I thought it may be overkill... I should've put all that pudding in there. Yep, I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Super easy to make and the presentation is fabulous. Made this cake for my mom's birthday and she loved it...Boston cream pie is her favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
It was ok, but the filling was very runny and ruined the cake. Tastes good, but very "convenience food" like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe was a great hit. When I was leveling off the bottom cake, my husband asked me to carve out some so I could fit more pudding inside. I did, and it was really yummy, the only thing I would suggest is to make sure not to carve to close to the edges so the outside 'wall' doesn't break and the pudding leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Not only is this recipe easy - It tastes great! I used French Vanilla cake mix and pudding because that's what I had. I also used only 1Cup milk - I think I could have used 1 1/4 and had a little more pudding, but it worked out fine. The key is to make sure EVERYTHING is cool. I put the cake and pudding in the fridge before assembling. With the cake cold the icing cooled quickly and set easily on the cake instead of just drizzling off the cake and onto the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I just made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday. I have to say... I really was a bit hesistant to make it. The "bad" reviews it got scared me a little. However, I took my chances and I am so glad I didn't let those "bad" reviews deter me. The only piece of advise I can give is to TAKE YOUR TIME. If you follow the directions and take your time measuring out everything, you cannot mess this cake up. I baked the cakes, made the pudding (only used 1 1/4 cup of cold skim milk), waited for the cakes to cool completely. Then I assembled the cake with the pudding (not messy at all). I bought the new microwavable frosting and poured it ALL over the top of the cake and then slowly spread the frosting to drip off of the edges. It looked silly so I just frosted the sides perfectly and added some colorful sprinkles. LOOKS PERFECT. The only reason I gave it four starts was because I haven't tried it yet. It might appear delicious, but I never judge a book by it's cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States