Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I love Boston Cream Pie, but always thought it was difficult to make. When I saw this recipe I couldn't help, but to try it--it had all of my favorite ingredients, I had them on hand, and the directions were super easy. I thought the large package of pudding was too much just to go in between the layers so I added some on top. I made sure to chill the cake before drizzling the warm frosting on top. It worked. Next time I'll divide both cake layers to have "fancier" cake & to distribute the pudding better. I also only drizzled the frosting & used only half of the can, which was plenty. I loved this cake & so did my kids. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I took the suggestion of using 1 1/4 cup of milk in the french vanilla instant pudding and the filling was great. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe from this site and did that in the microwave which literally took two minutes. Easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
[2/12] Very easy. Use 1 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
A huge disaster!!!! My pudding never set up.........do you think because I used rice milk?? I only used 1-1/4 c. but that pudding was runny as ever!!! So I ended up making a cherry filling and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We made this with as many fat free/light ingredients as we could and it was delicious. My 15 year old even decided she wanted cakes like this at her sweet 16!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I loved this- made it way more fancy just for fun. I followed the recipe, cutting the milk for pudding down to 1 1/2 cups for a thicker consistency. Made 2 9" round cakes and when cooled- crumbled the cakes. I got some really cute (and cheap) dessert dishes from the dollar store. I layered the ingredients- cake then pudding, then more cake. I melted the frosting a bit to make it creamy and poured a layer on top. Put a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled some crushed graham crackers on top. From easy to fancy in no time! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbear19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was amazing I am not an excellent baker but this turned out great my only thought would be to freeze the pudding in a round cake pan over plastic wrap because the filling oozed out after i added the top layer and before i could get all the frosting on. even so it still taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This cake was so dry and the cream was just ok, will not be making this cake ever again. Very plain not tasty cake, I will definetely take my time next time and make my own creme and make the cake from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDbikerchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I used french vanilla box cake, vanilla pudding and chocolate buttercream frosting because it's what I had on hand. I will make this again, only I will take other users advice to use less milk in the pudding to make it thicker. Definetly refrigerate this cake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The taste on this cake was very good but making the recipe as directed turned into a big mess. The filling was too runny so it just oozed over the sides and was impossible to ice. Mine fell apart and the presentation was not anything i would ever serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States