Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I love Boston Cream Pie, but always thought it was difficult to make. When I saw this recipe I couldn't help, but to try it--it had all of my favorite ingredients, I had them on hand, and the directions were super easy. I thought the large package of pudding was too much just to go in between the layers so I added some on top. I made sure to chill the cake before drizzling the warm frosting on top. It worked. Next time I'll divide both cake layers to have "fancier" cake & to distribute the pudding better. I also only drizzled the frosting & used only half of the can, which was plenty. I loved this cake & so did my kids. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I took the suggestion of using 1 1/4 cup of milk in the french vanilla instant pudding and the filling was great. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe from this site and did that in the microwave which literally took two minutes. Easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
[2/12] Very easy. Use 1 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
A huge disaster!!!! My pudding never set up.........do you think because I used rice milk?? I only used 1-1/4 c. but that pudding was runny as ever!!! So I ended up making a cherry filling and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We made this with as many fat free/light ingredients as we could and it was delicious. My 15 year old even decided she wanted cakes like this at her sweet 16!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I loved this- made it way more fancy just for fun. I followed the recipe, cutting the milk for pudding down to 1 1/2 cups for a thicker consistency. Made 2 9" round cakes and when cooled- crumbled the cakes. I got some really cute (and cheap) dessert dishes from the dollar store. I layered the ingredients- cake then pudding, then more cake. I melted the frosting a bit to make it creamy and poured a layer on top. Put a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled some crushed graham crackers on top. From easy to fancy in no time! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbear19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was amazing I am not an excellent baker but this turned out great my only thought would be to freeze the pudding in a round cake pan over plastic wrap because the filling oozed out after i added the top layer and before i could get all the frosting on. even so it still taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This cake was so dry and the cream was just ok, will not be making this cake ever again. Very plain not tasty cake, I will definetely take my time next time and make my own creme and make the cake from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDbikerchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I used french vanilla box cake, vanilla pudding and chocolate buttercream frosting because it's what I had on hand. I will make this again, only I will take other users advice to use less milk in the pudding to make it thicker. Definetly refrigerate this cake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The taste on this cake was very good but making the recipe as directed turned into a big mess. The filling was too runny so it just oozed over the sides and was impossible to ice. Mine fell apart and the presentation was not anything i would ever serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States