Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
This was just the quick, easy recipe I was searching for! The perfect recipe for the real world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Thought it was great and so quick and easy, especially since I keep these ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was not as easy to make as promised. The pudding called for was way too much; when I put the top layer on, all the pudding slid down the side of the cake. Difficult to put together, but it was delicious and a hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I hated it, my family hated it, and it totally ruined my party. It was hard to make (I am a whiz in the kitchen, btw) and it was a pain in the butt to clean up. I'm throwing this recipe away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
Very easy recipe and tasted great. Big hit at the cookout. I would recommend making the pudding with less milk, and allowing the pudding to sit before putting cake together. Also skewers worked to keep it together while chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Maxie29 got it just right....I followed her suggestions (less milk in the pudding and let it set a while) and the pudding stood up to the cake. I let the cake sit a while too, and frosted the top while it was totally stable in the counter before I put it on top of the wiggling pudding. It ain't exactly home made from scratch, but then, it wasn't nearly as hard either...definately worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
My son loves boston cream pie so I tried this cake for his birthday. It was great. I used less milk in the pudding (1c.) might try 1&1/2c. next time. Chilled the pudding first and the cakes before putting together. I also sliced the rounded top off the bottom cake so pudding would sit nicely. French vanilla instant pudding gives it the custard effect. Extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Was delicious!! you HAVE to chill the pudding, and the cake. I cut the milk to 1 1/2c. And this worked out perfectly! I made it for valentines day in a heart shaped cake pan. Placed on a cake platter, and drizzled melted choc. around the plate- looks wonderful! (and taste's wonderful too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
quick, easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This turned out really well. I made it for my husband for his birthday and he really liked it. I used less milk with the pudding as was recommended. Great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States