Boston Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for father's day since my dad loves Boston Cream Pie. I felt a little guilty about all the ingredients coming out of boxes, so I made the icing from Boston Cream Pie II to feel like it was somewhat homemade. That chocolate glaze recipe ended up being really thick so I htinned it out with some milk and it turned out perfect. In the pudding, I used about 2 1/2 cups of milk since I had forgotten that other reviews had said to cut back until I was already dumping it in. I liked the consistency and would use the same amount again. I refridgerated the cake and pudding before assembling, topped it with the icing and put it back in the refridgerator. The icing hardened a little from being cold so I pulled it out right before dinner so it would soften for dessert. I LOVE this cake! It tastes so good and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Very easy and very similar to Boston cream pie. I used 1 1/2 cups of milk for the pudding and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Great idea to use pudding in center of cake. I made this for my son's birthday & he gave it a thumbs up. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I wrote that I would try it with a Chocolate cake mix. Did not like it that way. Maybe becasue the cake mix called for oil? When I made it with a yellow cake mix it called for butter or margerine. It was good with the yellow cake mix. The pudding was good this time using 1 1/4 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Ridiculously easy to make and sooo good. Haven't made it since the first time, but that's because we're trying to lose weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe! Very quick and easy, although I did alter it a little. I only used a 1 1/2 c. of milk in the pudding mix as some of the other reviews said to. I too chilled the pudding and the cake before putting it all together. When I was leveling the bottom layer I decided to make a dip in mine to hold more of the pudding. I didn't have any chocolate frosting or all the ingredients to make frosting, so I melted 6 Hershey's Bars with about a 1/4 cup of milk and a tablespoon of vegetable oil until it was smooth, (about the consistency of pancake syrup). I then poured the chocolate over the top, completly covering it, until it started running down the sides. Not only did it look great it also tasted great. All my kids and my wife just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I was gonna submit this exact recipe, as Im a lover of Boston Cream Pie, but am pretty much fed up with the expensive, from scratch recipes out there. Hey, dessert is an indulgence, so who cares if you have a little transfat in your frosting via a can of whipped frosting once in awhile? I use the Duncan Hines Yellow cake, jell-o instant vanilla pudding, and the Duncan Hines whipped frosting. The only recommendations I have are that this cake works much better as a single layer cake, that you split in half and fill. It's just the right proportions between cake, custard and frosting. Also, rather than microwave, I prefer to frost the entire cake, tops and sides so that the cake is sealed and won't dry out. I keep it in the fridge on a plate, underneath and upside down pyrex bowl, and as I take a slice, I cover the exposed cake with a verticle piece of wax paper covering the cake, and not the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I could have easily written this recipe because it was the number one thing I craved while I was pregnant with my first child 4 years ago. I've also done a chocolate version (chocolate cake..chocolate pudding, and frosting) which is also quite tasty. Extra delicious! You *have* to keep it cold though..because that's when it's the yummiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I hate "cake-from-a-box" but this was terrific!!!. I used reduced sugar cake mix (used applesauce instead of oil), fat-free sugar free pudding (used only 1 1/4 skim milk - perfect)and reduced sugar frosting. It didn't taste like a cake from a box nor a low fat/low sugar dessert. I highly recommend this recipe for a quick and easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This recipe is easy to make and delicious! I reduced the amount of milk used with the pudding mix to 1 1/2 cups. I served it with mounds of whipped cream. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States