Boston Cooler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've been making these for more than 45 years, and I still consider these a mind blowing treat. To the reviewer who likened it to a "foamy melted milkshake", add a scoop, or two, more icecream and it will be as lucious as any milkshake you've ever had. Using a quality, vanilla bean, icecream takes it over the top as well. For those of you in the Montreal, Canada, area; try making a cooler with Spruce Beer, and French vanilla icecream; that will get your taste buds singing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Forget the blender and serve with a straw and a spoon. Lucious stuff and SO refreshing. A cherry on top is gilding the lily, but kinda fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
We enjoyed this, it was light and refreshing. It kind of tasted like a foamy melted milkshake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It tastes like a creamsicle...ginger style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I used to love Boston coolers when I was a kid. I lived in MI, but they were popular there. I think I might try adding a pic later. Either way, we used to scoop the ice cream and then add the gingerale, to taste, more like an ice-cream float. I don't ever remember seeing the two blended together, in a blender though, not even at the ice cream shops. The combination is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My mom took me for Boston Cooler's at Woolworth's at their soda fountain. It was the best! Vernor's was aged for seven years in oak barrels back then. None of the websites for the real Boston Cooler recipes gave that information. Even the "Vernors" site says it used to be aged for four years in oak barrels. Apparently they don't remember their own history! It was seven years aged back in the fifty's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Nothing in the world beats this Detroit treat! Unfortunately, Vernors gingerale has COMPLETELY changed their recipe, but it still beats any other gingerale out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I loved these as a kid in Detroit at the fountain counter at SandersIce Cream stores and i STILL love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States