Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My 4yr son would not go to bed without having a slice - I thought the nuttiness of the molasses would be unappealing to him, but he loved it. Great with cream cheese in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This bread recipe is great. Baking in Central Oregon is always a challenge - I'm at 4200 ft and dry, so I used two smaller pans. The bread came out done in the middle with a nice crust. Also used Bob's Red Mill unbleached white flour & whole wheat pastry flour. Served with Boston Baked Beans made with Canadian bacon - great meal for a snowny Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet lips

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Good, quick bread recipe. We enjoy it warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yummy. Only differences is I added raisins and cooked in 2 slightly smaller loaf pans so I could freeze one. Cooked in about 30 minutes. My 1 & 3 year old LOVED too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Will make again. Great with cream cheese instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I tried this at home, followed to the letter and it was excellent. I adapted it for a camping trip by placing all the dry ingredients in a gallon sized ziplock freezer bag. I used dry buttermilk and added that to the dry stuff too. The molasses went into a snack sized ziplock and put that inside the dry ingredients bag until we got to our destination. At camp I removed and squeezed the molasses bag out into the dry ingredients bag. Then mixed in 2 c water and baked the bread in a 12" cast iron Dutch Oven over the coals from the campfire. It was perfect with Irish Stew and a pint of Guinness on a chilly night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this bread because my sister told me to try it. I am so glad she did. It was easy to make and it tastes so good. I made it yesterday and most of it is gone but I did have a small piece left which I toasted fo breakfast. The only thing I did differently was to use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. It is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good, but I have never tasted Boston Brown bread before so I have nothing to compare it to. I have no idea what this "bread in a can" is that so many people refered to. The whole family enjoyed it though, with no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
All I can say is WOW, better than the stuff I have been served at the restaurants! Definitely will make over and over, sweet and yummy bread! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Wonderful bread! I took it out at 45 minutes (it looked very done - was very dark and toasted on the top), but wished I had taken it out at 50 minutes - was a big gooey in the middle. I think 60 minutes would've been too long, so I'll try 50 minutes next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States