Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My 15 year old daughter is a huge fan of this bread. I made it to go with a rosemary carrot soup and both loaves were gobbled within 24 hours. Something to note, I substituted the wheat flour with white flour and the buttermilk with whole milk and it still came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this brown bread to go along with my Boston Baked Beans and it was fabulous! So much better than the canned stuff I used to eat when I was a kid. I will be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was the easiest, best tasting bread. The only change I made was to add 3/4 cup raisins. It is moist and slightly sweet. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This bread was great! Not quite the taste I remember but very close. The only thing I would change with the recipe is the cooking time. An hour was too long in the oven. The crust was just too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it in 3 mini loaves ( baking about 35 minutes at 350°)and added 1 cup of raisins, it came out perfect. We ate up all 3 loaves while it was still warm, and I am baking 3 more this morning for breakfast, and so my daughter can have a loaf to take back to college with her. Just a wonderful cold-morning treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very delicious! The perfect combination of sweet with an edge! I also sprinkled a handful of flaxseeds over top for extra nutrient value. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiestaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
We live in North Carolina. I am a native, however my wife is born and bred from Mass. She raves about canned brown bread all the time so I decided to try and appease her innerchild a little. She found the texture to be slightly tougher, however the taste was a duplicate of her memories. She was somewhat disappointed because all she can think about is how moist the bread was once it came out of the can, however I explained to her that inside is what matters most because it was being made in a can and the can is what made it moist! Some things can be duplicated, but alas not everything. Pleased overall, but had to throw much of it to the birds who now are diabetic from this extremely sugary bread treat. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proconchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Just like the stuff from the can, but has a better texture and no worms!!! (I had a bad experience involving worms and canned brown bread and I have never bought it since.) I added some raisins and made it into 4 mini loaves. Delcious, healthy and no complicated and difficult steaming involved. Bravo! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
very good,moist and went fast on the 4th of July BBQ with my baked beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemonjello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Very simple. A dense, chewy bread with a deep flavor. My older son helped me make this in the morning before it got too hot. It was simple enough for him to help with with minimal supervision. I did have to cover this with foil about 20 minutes before it came out because it would have scorched if I hadn't. Good contrast against Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili. NOTE: To make your molasses slip easily from your measuring cup, give it a good spritz with your baking spray. Comes clean like whoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States