Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! Served with dinner, then toasted for breakfast. It went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great homemade taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GVIGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springvale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This isn't the brown bread that I remember...it's not as dark. However, it's phenomenal. I really had to wrap it up and practically hide it from myself. I am a fan of butter, but this really is so much better with cream cheese. I can't wait to try it warmed over with some fruit butter in the morning. I have some cherry butter that will be amazing with it. Some reviewers mentioned that it got too done/dry at the full 60 minutes, so I checked it at 45 and it still needed a little more time. I went 50 and the middle was still a little wet when I pulled it out and let it cool. But I even like the slightly underdone part - the whole loaf had a great moist texture. Couldn't have been easier to make, tastes and smells amazing. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I couldn't stop eating it!!!My friends always love this one. Truly a great flavor with just the right touch of sweetness. Great warm with butter! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This makes tasty bread with good flavor and texture. I added a half cup of raisins because I’ve never had Boston brown bread without raisins (I think it’s the law) and the raisins add to it. It’s not the recipe I was looking for but was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This tastes just like what my Grandmother used to make when I was young! After her passing, nobody seemed to know what happened to her recipies. So I added 2/3 cups raisins, that I had soaked in boiling water. I also baked the bread in cans. Only because thats how I remember Grandma doing it that way. Never knew why she boiled the raisins or used cans, but thats how I will always make it. Just because thats the way she did. Thank You for the wonderful recipe and the memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Delicious! Mine only took 45 minutes to cook. Make with Boston Baked Beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Fantastic. This is a delicious bread and easy to make. My loaf took 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. So moist, just a touch of sweet. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I had some leftover buttermilk and was looking up recipes to use it in and whole wheat flour. I wasn't sure with the list of ingredients or the fact that it had no yeast, etc. But, it tasted like a mix between pumpernickel and beer bread, and it had a pretty good texture. Mine baked in about 50 minutes. It tasted best though, when it came out of the oven warm, with margarine or butter. I wouldn't call this an everyday kind of bread, as it has such a strong and distinct taste, but it tasted fine for the evening with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States