Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! Served with dinner, then toasted for breakfast. It went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great homemade taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GVIGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springvale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Seaman
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This isn't the brown bread that I remember...it's not as dark. However, it's phenomenal. I really had to wrap it up and practically hide it from myself. I am a fan of butter, but this really is so much better with cream cheese. I can't wait to try it warmed over with some fruit butter in the morning. I have some cherry butter that will be amazing with it. Some reviewers mentioned that it got too done/dry at the full 60 minutes, so I checked it at 45 and it still needed a little more time. I went 50 and the middle was still a little wet when I pulled it out and let it cool. But I even like the slightly underdone part - the whole loaf had a great moist texture. Couldn't have been easier to make, tastes and smells amazing. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I couldn't stop eating it!!!My friends always love this one. Truly a great flavor with just the right touch of sweetness. Great warm with butter! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This makes tasty bread with good flavor and texture. I added a half cup of raisins because I’ve never had Boston brown bread without raisins (I think it’s the law) and the raisins add to it. It’s not the recipe I was looking for but was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This tastes just like what my Grandmother used to make when I was young! After her passing, nobody seemed to know what happened to her recipies. So I added 2/3 cups raisins, that I had soaked in boiling water. I also baked the bread in cans. Only because thats how I remember Grandma doing it that way. Never knew why she boiled the raisins or used cans, but thats how I will always make it. Just because thats the way she did. Thank You for the wonderful recipe and the memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Delicious! Mine only took 45 minutes to cook. Make with Boston Baked Beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Fantastic. This is a delicious bread and easy to make. My loaf took 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. So moist, just a touch of sweet. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I had some leftover buttermilk and was looking up recipes to use it in and whole wheat flour. I wasn't sure with the list of ingredients or the fact that it had no yeast, etc. But, it tasted like a mix between pumpernickel and beer bread, and it had a pretty good texture. Mine baked in about 50 minutes. It tasted best though, when it came out of the oven warm, with margarine or butter. I wouldn't call this an everyday kind of bread, as it has such a strong and distinct taste, but it tasted fine for the evening with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States