Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Easy and delicious. Dense, moist and foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made as described except couldn't find my loaf pan and used muffin tins instead and they came out like the best bran muffins I've ever had. Light, moist, just enough sweet and delicious warm out of the oven with butter or vegetable oil spread. Will make again. So easy and a great eat-on-the-run breakfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Oh my word, this is such GOOD brown bread! I particularly like that I can make one loaf. I made it exactly as stated but took it out of the oven after 53 minutes because it looked done (and was). My husband loves it too so this recipe will definitely be a keeper and will be used over and over. Thanks so much paradigmgirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My husband loves this bread. I didn't. Will I make it again? Yes, lol He love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I added 1/2 c. softened raisins and two tablespoons of melted shortening to be sure that it was tender and not chewy. We all think it is delicious. Also, my bread pan is a glass Pyrex, at 4.5" x 8.5". I used my extra batter to fill a baby bread pan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I'd give it six stars if I could. Made it as is--no changes or additions and it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I'm confused about all the positive reviews. I'd never tried boston brown bread before I attempted this. The closest thing I could think of this tasting like is fruitcake, but worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is super quick, easy, and delicious. A whole wheat bread without yeast!! I had it with Curried Carrot Soup from this site. The second time I made it was with only 1/3 cup of brown sugar, which I preferred as a normal bread, but this would be great as is with raisins added. Thanks for this quick bread recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Love this! It reminds me of the brown bread (in the can) that I had as a child. I like the original recipe but did end up improving it the next time around by using half rye flour and half cornmeal for the white flour and adding about a cup of raisins. Now it's perfection in my book. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a good bread, it's a little sweeter than I wanted it to be, but the flavor is still very tasty. Though I'll keep looking for the "perfect" brown bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States