Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This a wonderfully easy bread to make. Was the first time I made bread and will diffently make it again. Tastes wonderful fresh out of oven with butter. Is a wonderful snack bread. Husband and children ate it before I could get a second piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Very easy and simple to make. I found I had to bake it longer than an hour, but the letting it sit and cool down to finish cooking is probably very important. I loved the taste. It wasn't too sweet, but just right, and the molasses is a very strong flavor. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Really good. My husband said, "Tastes just like bread out of a can." (If you're confused, that's a good thing.) To keep the kitchen cooler, I used the quick-bread setting on my bread machine. Worked great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This bread was very easy to make. I had it cutomized to serve four and baked it in a smaller loaf pan (7 1/2 by 3 3/4. It turn out great. It was sweet and more like a dessert. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I thought this bread was delicious! And, so easy to make, too! I like the sweetness the brown sugar adds. It's not too sweet, but a hint of sweet that you don't find in some brown breads. It'a a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is a great recipe. This will definitely be a favorite for my family and I. Even my kids (ages 3&4) loved it. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
First attempt at making a loaf of bread. It turned out great! I made 2 in the same day, gave one to a good friend's family. Their family and mine loved it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
For those New Englanders out there, this is one of the best homemade brown breads out there...I added raisins to mine, and yes, the bread is supposed to be dry if you buy the stuff in the can...this was moist and delicious. Just what one needs to go along with homemade Boston baked beans and franks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This bread was loved by our whole family, including my 9 month old! The only change I made was to use half and half white and whole wheat flour, but next time I'll try it exactly as written as I think the molasses will probably cover any bitter taste from the whole wheat flour. The loaf was moist right out of the oven, and got nice and chewy over the next couple of days. Will make this many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I wasn't sure I liked Boston Brown Bread but decided to give it a try - we loved it! The loaf barely lasted 24 hours. The recipe was extremely easy and I liked that there weren't too many ingredients - it took less than 5 minutes to get in the oven. I made a couple of minor changes - 2 cups white flour & 1 cup wheat and tossed in a handful of raisins before baking. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States