Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
To me, this brown bread is PERFECTION. I love it. I made it exactly as the recipe suggests. I'll never make another version again. (just a note: the directions forget to tell you to add the salt listed in the ingredients)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Principessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Really good. My husband said, "Tastes just like bread out of a can." (If you're confused, that's a good thing.) To keep the kitchen cooler, I used the quick-bread setting on my bread machine. Worked great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Very simple. A dense, chewy bread with a deep flavor. My older son helped me make this in the morning before it got too hot. It was simple enough for him to help with with minimal supervision. I did have to cover this with foil about 20 minutes before it came out because it would have scorched if I hadn't. Good contrast against Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili. NOTE: To make your molasses slip easily from your measuring cup, give it a good spritz with your baking spray. Comes clean like whoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSANDON
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Wonderful! Change nothing, this recipe is perfect except add 2/3 c raisins soaked in 1/4 c apple juice for 15-30 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. So moist, just a touch of sweet. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I wasn't sure I liked Boston Brown Bread but decided to give it a try - we loved it! The loaf barely lasted 24 hours. The recipe was extremely easy and I liked that there weren't too many ingredients - it took less than 5 minutes to get in the oven. I made a couple of minor changes - 2 cups white flour & 1 cup wheat and tossed in a handful of raisins before baking. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I thought this bread was delicious! And, so easy to make, too! I like the sweetness the brown sugar adds. It's not too sweet, but a hint of sweet that you don't find in some brown breads. It'a a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I'm not used to baking bread without yeast and I was surprised to see that this really did rise! I also added wheat germ and some bran and it turned out amazingly good. Loved this and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I had some leftover buttermilk and was looking up recipes to use it in and whole wheat flour. I wasn't sure with the list of ingredients or the fact that it had no yeast, etc. But, it tasted like a mix between pumpernickel and beer bread, and it had a pretty good texture. Mine baked in about 50 minutes. It tasted best though, when it came out of the oven warm, with margarine or butter. I wouldn't call this an everyday kind of bread, as it has such a strong and distinct taste, but it tasted fine for the evening with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great recipes. And easy to make. My husband is from south of Ireland, and he love it. I sub 2/3 cup of whole wheat to 7 grains. And reduce sugar to lose 1/2 cup. We don't like it too sweet! I also use 2 smaller tins to bake it. And one can share! It taste like the brown bread we had in Ireland. It goes very well with honey. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States