Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
So easy to make and really yummy! Pretty sweet but not overly so. I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted vinegar and milk for 1/2 of it and plain yogurt for the other 1/2 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Not only is this a healthy, simple recipe, it's so easy that my eight and five year-old make it weekly now!!! So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I have a strong dislike of molasses so I substituted maple syrup. I also added a cup of raisins because many of the recipes I've seen for Boston Brown Bread include them and I like them. What I didn't count on is that this seems to have caused the batter to spill over the side of the pan as it rose (I'm assuming it was the extra volume of the raisins that was responsible). In addition to the overflow issue it didn't get quite as firm inside as I would have liked and I had to take it out because the crust was starting to burn. It tastes really good though so next time I will either split it into two loaves or make muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This really IS the BEST! If you are a fan of the canned brown bread you find in the store, you'll know what I'm talking about. It tastes exactly like it, only better since it's homemade. It baked up nice and high as well. The only thing I'll continue to do differently is follow the advice of the reviewer who switched the ratios of flour -- so... 2 cups of all purpose flour and 1 cup of ww flour instead of the other way around. Now, I really wish I had more buttermilk to make another loaf. I can't say enough good things about this recipe - I'm definitely glad I decided to try this one! Thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I've been using this site for six years and this is the first time I've commented on a recipe, that's how good this recipe is. THIS BREAD IS GREAT! It's healthy and it's easy and it tastes incredible. I did it with buttermilk and regular milk with vineger, buttermilk is best. As a Maritimer baked beans and fish cakes are a favorite meal in this home, brown bread is the icing on the cake. Huge hit with the whole family. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
people raved about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Awesome bread, especially warm with butter. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great recipes. And easy to make. My husband is from south of Ireland, and he love it. I sub 2/3 cup of whole wheat to 7 grains. And reduce sugar to lose 1/2 cup. We don't like it too sweet! I also use 2 smaller tins to bake it. And one can share! It taste like the brown bread we had in Ireland. It goes very well with honey. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
will definately make again. My husband and kids loved it and it was so easy. Used treacle rather than molasses as I had to use it up. Pretty much the same thing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This bread is great! I only cooked it for 40 minutes and it had a great moist middle with a crunchy top. A good and healty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States