Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Really good. I followed the recipe to the letter. I had to bake it longer than specified, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Oh my gosh..this is soooo good. Moist & delicious. I will be making this a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
So easy to make and really yummy! Pretty sweet but not overly so. I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted vinegar and milk for 1/2 of it and plain yogurt for the other 1/2 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Not only is this a healthy, simple recipe, it's so easy that my eight and five year-old make it weekly now!!! So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I have a strong dislike of molasses so I substituted maple syrup. I also added a cup of raisins because many of the recipes I've seen for Boston Brown Bread include them and I like them. What I didn't count on is that this seems to have caused the batter to spill over the side of the pan as it rose (I'm assuming it was the extra volume of the raisins that was responsible). In addition to the overflow issue it didn't get quite as firm inside as I would have liked and I had to take it out because the crust was starting to burn. It tastes really good though so next time I will either split it into two loaves or make muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This really IS the BEST! If you are a fan of the canned brown bread you find in the store, you'll know what I'm talking about. It tastes exactly like it, only better since it's homemade. It baked up nice and high as well. The only thing I'll continue to do differently is follow the advice of the reviewer who switched the ratios of flour -- so... 2 cups of all purpose flour and 1 cup of ww flour instead of the other way around. Now, I really wish I had more buttermilk to make another loaf. I can't say enough good things about this recipe - I'm definitely glad I decided to try this one! Thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I've been using this site for six years and this is the first time I've commented on a recipe, that's how good this recipe is. THIS BREAD IS GREAT! It's healthy and it's easy and it tastes incredible. I did it with buttermilk and regular milk with vineger, buttermilk is best. As a Maritimer baked beans and fish cakes are a favorite meal in this home, brown bread is the icing on the cake. Huge hit with the whole family. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
people raved about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Awesome bread, especially warm with butter. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great recipes. And easy to make. My husband is from south of Ireland, and he love it. I sub 2/3 cup of whole wheat to 7 grains. And reduce sugar to lose 1/2 cup. We don't like it too sweet! I also use 2 smaller tins to bake it. And one can share! It taste like the brown bread we had in Ireland. It goes very well with honey. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States