Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
very good,moist and went fast on the 4th of July BBQ with my baked beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemonjello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Very simple. A dense, chewy bread with a deep flavor. My older son helped me make this in the morning before it got too hot. It was simple enough for him to help with with minimal supervision. I did have to cover this with foil about 20 minutes before it came out because it would have scorched if I hadn't. Good contrast against Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili. NOTE: To make your molasses slip easily from your measuring cup, give it a good spritz with your baking spray. Comes clean like whoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was so much easier than steaming it in a can! I added a cup of raisins and it was the same! I think I could have added a cup and a half even. I highly recommend this recipe! My mother in-law LOVED it....and she's from Boston!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bevier French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My 4yr son would not go to bed without having a slice - I thought the nuttiness of the molasses would be unappealing to him, but he loved it. Great with cream cheese in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This bread recipe is great. Baking in Central Oregon is always a challenge - I'm at 4200 ft and dry, so I used two smaller pans. The bread came out done in the middle with a nice crust. Also used Bob's Red Mill unbleached white flour & whole wheat pastry flour. Served with Boston Baked Beans made with Canadian bacon - great meal for a snowny Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet lips

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Good, quick bread recipe. We enjoy it warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yummy. Only differences is I added raisins and cooked in 2 slightly smaller loaf pans so I could freeze one. Cooked in about 30 minutes. My 1 & 3 year old LOVED too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Will make again. Great with cream cheese instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I tried this at home, followed to the letter and it was excellent. I adapted it for a camping trip by placing all the dry ingredients in a gallon sized ziplock freezer bag. I used dry buttermilk and added that to the dry stuff too. The molasses went into a snack sized ziplock and put that inside the dry ingredients bag until we got to our destination. At camp I removed and squeezed the molasses bag out into the dry ingredients bag. Then mixed in 2 c water and baked the bread in a 12" cast iron Dutch Oven over the coals from the campfire. It was perfect with Irish Stew and a pint of Guinness on a chilly night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this bread because my sister told me to try it. I am so glad she did. It was easy to make and it tastes so good. I made it yesterday and most of it is gone but I did have a small piece left which I toasted fo breakfast. The only thing I did differently was to use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. It is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States