Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
very good,moist and went fast on the 4th of July BBQ with my baked beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemonjello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Very simple. A dense, chewy bread with a deep flavor. My older son helped me make this in the morning before it got too hot. It was simple enough for him to help with with minimal supervision. I did have to cover this with foil about 20 minutes before it came out because it would have scorched if I hadn't. Good contrast against Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili. NOTE: To make your molasses slip easily from your measuring cup, give it a good spritz with your baking spray. Comes clean like whoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was so much easier than steaming it in a can! I added a cup of raisins and it was the same! I think I could have added a cup and a half even. I highly recommend this recipe! My mother in-law LOVED it....and she's from Boston!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bevier French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My 4yr son would not go to bed without having a slice - I thought the nuttiness of the molasses would be unappealing to him, but he loved it. Great with cream cheese in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This bread recipe is great. Baking in Central Oregon is always a challenge - I'm at 4200 ft and dry, so I used two smaller pans. The bread came out done in the middle with a nice crust. Also used Bob's Red Mill unbleached white flour & whole wheat pastry flour. Served with Boston Baked Beans made with Canadian bacon - great meal for a snowny Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet lips

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Good, quick bread recipe. We enjoy it warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yummy. Only differences is I added raisins and cooked in 2 slightly smaller loaf pans so I could freeze one. Cooked in about 30 minutes. My 1 & 3 year old LOVED too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Will make again. Great with cream cheese instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I tried this at home, followed to the letter and it was excellent. I adapted it for a camping trip by placing all the dry ingredients in a gallon sized ziplock freezer bag. I used dry buttermilk and added that to the dry stuff too. The molasses went into a snack sized ziplock and put that inside the dry ingredients bag until we got to our destination. At camp I removed and squeezed the molasses bag out into the dry ingredients bag. Then mixed in 2 c water and baked the bread in a 12" cast iron Dutch Oven over the coals from the campfire. It was perfect with Irish Stew and a pint of Guinness on a chilly night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this bread because my sister told me to try it. I am so glad she did. It was easy to make and it tastes so good. I made it yesterday and most of it is gone but I did have a small piece left which I toasted fo breakfast. The only thing I did differently was to use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. It is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States