Boston Brown Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This isn't the brown bread that I remember...it's not as dark. However, it's phenomenal. I really had to wrap it up and practically hide it from myself. I am a fan of butter, but this really is so much better with cream cheese. I can't wait to try it warmed over with some fruit butter in the morning. I have some cherry butter that will be amazing with it. Some reviewers mentioned that it got too done/dry at the full 60 minutes, so I checked it at 45 and it still needed a little more time. I went 50 and the middle was still a little wet when I pulled it out and let it cool. But I even like the slightly underdone part - the whole loaf had a great moist texture. Couldn't have been easier to make, tastes and smells amazing. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I couldn't stop eating it!!!My friends always love this one. Truly a great flavor with just the right touch of sweetness. Great warm with butter! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This makes tasty bread with good flavor and texture. I added a half cup of raisins because I’ve never had Boston brown bread without raisins (I think it’s the law) and the raisins add to it. It’s not the recipe I was looking for but was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This tastes just like what my Grandmother used to make when I was young! After her passing, nobody seemed to know what happened to her recipies. So I added 2/3 cups raisins, that I had soaked in boiling water. I also baked the bread in cans. Only because thats how I remember Grandma doing it that way. Never knew why she boiled the raisins or used cans, but thats how I will always make it. Just because thats the way she did. Thank You for the wonderful recipe and the memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Delicious! Mine only took 45 minutes to cook. Make with Boston Baked Beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Fantastic. This is a delicious bread and easy to make. My loaf took 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. So moist, just a touch of sweet. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I had some leftover buttermilk and was looking up recipes to use it in and whole wheat flour. I wasn't sure with the list of ingredients or the fact that it had no yeast, etc. But, it tasted like a mix between pumpernickel and beer bread, and it had a pretty good texture. Mine baked in about 50 minutes. It tasted best though, when it came out of the oven warm, with margarine or butter. I wouldn't call this an everyday kind of bread, as it has such a strong and distinct taste, but it tasted fine for the evening with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Made as directed. Great healthy, hearty bread. Surprisingly moist and tasty. Ate it with soup, but it's also really good toasted with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My family loves this brown bread as is. After making the recipe as written I did get creative. I found that using 1/2 cup rye flour for part of the whole wheat flour works well. I also add 1/2 cup ground flax seed for part of the all-purpose flour. Easy recipe without the steaming required for most brown breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States