Boston Brown Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Delicious! Definitely do not forget to soak the raisins; it makes all the difference. I added about 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans, which added a nice touch. Also, I had to bake it for about 1 hr. 15 min. But otherwise it was very easy to make and tasty as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I love raisins so this bread was delicious! Soaking the raisins definitely gives the bread extra moisture and flavour. One change though: I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Soaking the raisins is great! I added some cinnamon and pecans. Very good sliced thick and made into French Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I lost a recipe similar to this years ago and have been searching ever since. I'm so glad I found this!!! Easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This bread reminds me of the bread my Mom made. I lost her recipe and had started to look for a similar one when I inherited my 95 year old Aunt's can tins. It was how my Mom had made it along with some nuts added. It takes the full hour to bake. My siblings and I always ate it with peanut butter. It was simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
The texture was just a little more cake-like than I hoped, but the flavor was very good. I always soak raisins overnight in regular black tea if I am making fruit bread/cake etc. It's something my gran and mum have always done, and I really like the subtle flavor it gives the fruit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This recipe produced a nicely brown and moist cake-like bread, but I was not overly pleased with the tart-like aftertaste. May work nicely for a brunch served with different kinds of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Not a success. It took an addition 7 minutes baking before the toothpick came out clean. Smelled amazing....tasted - Ehhh - not great. My 16 year old son said it tasted odd - and he will eat anything. He threw it away after a few bites. Will not make this again. It isn't a savory bread and it isn't a sweet bread like a pumpkin bread. Just odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States