Boston Brown Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow, does this bring back memories! My Grandma Helen used to make a fabulous brown bread that I loved as a child. This comes very close. I used 3/4 cup of molasses and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I love baking with buttermilk as it really does make everything come out very moist. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour and 15 minutes.This is a wonderful bread that is chewy, sweet and chock full of raisins! Perfect served warm with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Great recipe, BUT I did change it to make it more like the true Boston Brown Bread. I used equal portions of white, wheat and rye flour. (Next time I will try using corn meal which is what is in the original Brown Bread recipes.) I took the raisins ( 2/3 cup) and mixed them in with one egg and let sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours ( adding at the end). I baked the bread in a loaf pan at 350* for approximately one hour, tenting for the last 15 minutes. When done, I removed from the pan and placed the bread inside the foil that I used to tent the bread and wrapped it loosely...This gave it the steamed affect....It was pretty close to the old B&M Boston Brown Bread (in a can). I am sure this recipe is fine just as is...I just have the habit of changing recipes that I come across. Enjoy!! (An old Bostonian)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I would recommend baking this recipe in smaller loaf pans. Making it in one 5 x 9 caused the outside to get very well done before the inside was done. Otherwise excellent in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I've been looking for years for a good recipe for Boston Brown Bread, and I've finally found it! This was quick & easy to make, and it has the wonderful molasses taste I was hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This bread was just what I needed to go w/ homemade split pea soup w/ lots of carrots (for sweetness). I made a half recipe b/c that was all I needed. Unfortunately I made it w/o reading the reviews first and found out the hard way that the baking temp. needed to be lower (350 deg.). The outside of my bread, both top & bottom, was almost burnt while the inside was still too wet. I made it a 2nd time w/ half the molasses called for, a little additional buttermilk to make up for the missing portion of molasses, and cooked it longer at 350 deg.. It was still quite moist like it should be, not as dry as cake, but it did not taste anymore like uncooked dough inside. Like most no fat baked goods, the texture was a bit rubbery, but the raisins helped break it up. I think it's important to use lighter molasses--definitely not blackstrap or the taste will be too strong. I'll bet English golden syrup would work well too. The corrected recipe is now my go-to boston brown bread--better than store bought, and perfect w/ baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I love molasses, but this was a little to molasses for me. I will try this again, but next time I would cut back on the molasses to 2/3 cup. I added about 1 cup of raisins. I put the batter in muffin tins and baked it for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This reminds me of the brown bread my mother used to make. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
The bread is tasty but really dense and chewy. Great if you love molasses which my boyfriend and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I love a dense, chewy bread and this certainly fits the bill, and it tastes great as well. I didn't have quite enough molasses and substitued corn syrup for the remainder. I thing it would be even better with the full molasses flavor. Since others had some problems with the outside burning before the center was done, I also made this in two smaller loaf pans. The outside was crunchy and the inside moist. This is a quick and easy recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
I don't have any kids so I couldn't rate that part, but I'm a novice cook & this was not only easy for me, it was also a big hit. I can't wait to have some with baked beans...guess I'll have to make another loaf for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States