Boston Brown Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I've been looking for years for a good recipe for Boston Brown Bread, and I've finally found it! This was quick & easy to make, and it has the wonderful molasses taste I was hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
The bread is tasty but really dense and chewy. Great if you love molasses which my boyfriend and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
I don't have any kids so I couldn't rate that part, but I'm a novice cook & this was not only easy for me, it was also a big hit. I can't wait to have some with baked beans...guess I'll have to make another loaf for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I would recommend baking this recipe in smaller loaf pans. Making it in one 5 x 9 caused the outside to get very well done before the inside was done. Otherwise excellent in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This reminds me of the brown bread my mother used to make. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
How can anything this easy and healthy, taste this good? Even better if you top it butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I was disappointed with this recipe. The texture was typical of low-fat bread -- very chewy -- and the molasses flavor was overly strong. Also, the bread began to burn on the outside after 45 minutes in the oven but was still not completely cooked in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is good bread. It is very dense and chewy, with a strong molasses flavor. It was actually a little hard to cut. I don't eat raisins as snacks, but they go very well in this bread. After 50 minutes, the inside was baked through, but the top had burnt a little. It didn't affect the taste. It is an easy recipe with a minimal amount of ingredients. I would like to try other brown bread recipes on this site for comparison, but I will add this one to my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I made six muffins instead of a loaf (half the recipe) and baked them for about 35 minutes. This isn't bad--but I guess if I were eating bread with dinner, I'd want a yeast bread instead of this. It's easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I love molasses, but this was a little to molasses for me. I will try this again, but next time I would cut back on the molasses to 2/3 cup. I added about 1 cup of raisins. I put the batter in muffin tins and baked it for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States