Boston Brown Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
After moving to Mexico, (one month ago) I was in for a surprise that I can't find my beloved dense brown bread! I can only find the "fluffy" brown bread. After searching the net for a recipe, I picked BBB1, going to the store for ingreds. was another surprise! Not reading or speaking Spanish I could not find B milk or Molassas. I substituted a yogurt like cream for b milk (adding a little water for the right consistanty and carmel liquid used for flan for the molassas. I also added two tablespoons of toasted flaxseed. I made a half dozen muffins (35 mins) and a small loaf (45 mins. I also had to guess the temp. of the oven as my oven doesn't show the degrees! To my surprise it turned out good, it hits the spot! Great toasted with butter. I would make again when I get cravings for dense brown bread, but I will still search and experment for a denser European bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Thanks for a very tasty and healthful recipe! I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon,1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg and a dash ground ginger and it tasted just like the round brown bread in a can that I remember from my childhood! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serving with Gladness!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I love a dense, chewy bread and this certainly fits the bill, and it tastes great as well. I didn't have quite enough molasses and substitued corn syrup for the remainder. I thing it would be even better with the full molasses flavor. Since others had some problems with the outside burning before the center was done, I also made this in two smaller loaf pans. The outside was crunchy and the inside moist. This is a quick and easy recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
A good, dense, filling bread. Best eaten warm with butter and a glass of something cold. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I love molasses, but this was a little to molasses for me. I will try this again, but next time I would cut back on the molasses to 2/3 cup. I added about 1 cup of raisins. I put the batter in muffin tins and baked it for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I made six muffins instead of a loaf (half the recipe) and baked them for about 35 minutes. This isn't bad--but I guess if I were eating bread with dinner, I'd want a yeast bread instead of this. It's easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is good bread. It is very dense and chewy, with a strong molasses flavor. It was actually a little hard to cut. I don't eat raisins as snacks, but they go very well in this bread. After 50 minutes, the inside was baked through, but the top had burnt a little. It didn't affect the taste. It is an easy recipe with a minimal amount of ingredients. I would like to try other brown bread recipes on this site for comparison, but I will add this one to my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I was disappointed with this recipe. The texture was typical of low-fat bread -- very chewy -- and the molasses flavor was overly strong. Also, the bread began to burn on the outside after 45 minutes in the oven but was still not completely cooked in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
How can anything this easy and healthy, taste this good? Even better if you top it butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This reminds me of the brown bread my mother used to make. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States