Boston Brown Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Excellent. The only change I made was that I baked this in mini loaf pans which took about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nikiski, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kasilof, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I love this bread. My mom always baked it in small coffe cans for the cutest little round loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This turned out excellent! Instead of making 1 large loaf, I made 4 mini loaves and they were done after 30 minutes. A very quick and simple thing to make and I'll be making it again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Yum! Lowered the temp to 370 (but I'm at high altitude, so the temp was good for me). Made one loaf with raisins and one without... will never make it without raisins again! Next time I might try to cut back on the molasses a little and sub some brown sugar instead, to mellow the flavor a little. But awesome! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was so good. Got home from work, mixed it and poured into a pan. It was just delicious. I, also, lowered temp to 350 for the baking. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this today and it is nearly all gone my husband and visitors went crazy eating it. It is so moist and really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very tasty bread. I love the flavor of molasses and this bread delivers. I'm taking one star off because I think the oven temp is a little high. I searched other brown bread recipes and the oven temp was either 325 or 350. I used the oven temperature given and the inside wasn't quite done and the outside was rather dark. I had to drop the temperature to 350 to finish baking. Other than that this is worthy of 5 stars for me. Next time I make this I will make the adjustment to the oven temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I have also been looking for this recipe after having "molasses" bread in Boston years back. This is exactly it!! Its soft and rich. I also used an equal part rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Great recipe, BUT I did change it to make it more like the true Boston Brown Bread. I used equal portions of white, wheat and rye flour. (Next time I will try using corn meal which is what is in the original Brown Bread recipes.) I took the raisins ( 2/3 cup) and mixed them in with one egg and let sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours ( adding at the end). I baked the bread in a loaf pan at 350* for approximately one hour, tenting for the last 15 minutes. When done, I removed from the pan and placed the bread inside the foil that I used to tent the bread and wrapped it loosely...This gave it the steamed affect....It was pretty close to the old B&M Boston Brown Bread (in a can). I am sure this recipe is fine just as is...I just have the habit of changing recipes that I come across. Enjoy!! (An old Bostonian)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is an interesting "quick" bread. Dense, sweet and excellent toasted this bread is bound to become one of your favorites. If you use full flavor molasses decrees to 3/4 cup and if you love raisins (like my family) this recipe can definitely handle 1 c. or more. To keep it from browning too much, tent it lightly with foil half way through the cooking time. This bread is great warm out of the oven and is a filling breakfast toast. Don't forget to to the baked bread (especially toasted) with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States