Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this with a bag of dried beans that I soaked overnight. I'm not certain which type of beans I used (I forgot) but I don't think there is a specific rule about this...a bean is a bean is a bean...in my book. I didn't measure two cups of beans as the recipe instructs, I simply used the entire bag as I mentioned. I also didn't measure the salt (I now see another person rated this recipe 1 star due to excessive saltiness). Personally, I think salt is a judgement call so add it or not as you see fit. I would give this recipe 5 stars but what holds me back is the need to soak beans overnight...I tend to cook thinks on a whim and this recipe requires planning. I will make this again. I was thinking of throwing in a handful of walnuts for some reason...just for some bite. Sounds odd but might be delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
So good! I made these in my bean pot and it was my first attempt at making a from scratch bean recipe in it. It turned out so good that I even got my kids to eat beans! I did use a 1/2 cup of molasses instead of 3 tbsp for a bit more sweetness but kept everything else the same. Perfect. Thank you! Gonna try it in the crock pot next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
The recipe is great! I'd like to know if the amount of beans is dry or already soaked? Also, what is the serving size?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This recipe was too sweet for us so we try to cut down on the sweet items when we make this. I tried changing too many ingredients once and that was a big mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Used pinto beans that were soaked overnight and cooked it in a crockpot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is very good, I use salt pork in this recipe and leave the salt out, cause the salt pork puts enough salt. This is my mothers recipe when we where little, she always said use salt pork and never add salt when you use salt pork. I also rather used salt pork I have to cut up myself instead od the sliced stuff they slice in the super market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These taste fantastic! So, so easy and the aroma while baking is intoxicating. We are very salt sensitive, so the only change I made to the recipe was to omit the salt. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have made this twice now. It's amazing! I usually take a shortcut and use canned navy beans. 6 14.5 ounce cans Navy Beans is about the same as a 2 cups dried beans. I rinse the beans well and then follow the recipe as written. That is really the only change I've ever made. Everyone loves these and they are delicious as left overs as well. Perfect to take a long to a pot luck or BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Tastes just like my grandma used to make! It was one of those recipes that she never put down on a recipe card. Been looking for it for years! Although I did not use all of the salt that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made a few alterations. I used salt pork instead of bacon and only 1 tsp of salt. Other than that I followed the ingredients to the letter. I soaked my beans overnight, drained them. I didn't simmer them, since I'd never seen my mom do that, instead I threw them in my ceramic bean pot with all the other ingredients and let them go in my oven at 350 all afternoon. I checked every so often adding water as needed, testing the beans for doneness, and took them out when they tasted right. Couldn't be easier. Delicious flavor. The ketchup made them taste a little different than the true Boston baked beans I grew up with, but I actually like these better. Way more flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States