Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Everyone loved the flavour but I found this recipe time consuming so I will save it for special occations. I think I will try it in the crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Terry loved them. *Better than his Mom's" Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Love this recipe only thing I changed is I didn't add bacon. Added garlic onion and vegetable seasoning. This made this dish more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
While these are a little time consuming to make they sure do taste better than the ones that come in a can. When I'm in a pinch and I'm making these last minute I use canned beans and shorten the baking time. Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe with the sole exception that I only used a scant teaspoon of salt and (since it was what I had on hand) used great northern rather than navy beans. I'm a 3-decade vegetarian, but often cook meat for my husband. The way this recipe is structured, I was able to prepare it in two casseroles: the first following the recipe exactly (but with the full complement of bacon) for my husband, and the second casserole which just omitted the bacon. Served it with Kentucky Biscuits from this site and fresh corn on the cob ... Pure Happiness!!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Thanks for posting this recipe! I made baked beans from scratch last weekend. I cooked the dry white beans and I put everything in my Crockpot, including raw onion and raw bacon, they ended up slow-cooking all day and all night. They were super excellent! So doing them from scratch just means thinking way ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Delish!!! Have been looking for a recipe like this...I cheated and used canned beans-black, kidney, navy...and added a bit of garlic. I had some leftover corn and saute'd it with the garlic, onions, and bacon in bacon fat! I use a large dutch oven on the stove instead of the oven. Let's just say it was yummy...Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I made this recipe with a couple changes. I bought cans of navy beans, so didn't have to go through soaking etc. I also added a little bit of hot sauce to the sauce. Will make this over and over, flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I am not from Boston so I cannot say if these beans conform to their style, but I am from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, and I will say that these beans are pretty close to perfect. The only adjustment I made was I put 1 of the tsp salt in the simmering water with beans, and the other tsp with the sauce, and, added 3 more tbsp molasses than it called for. I simmered for 1 hr. These beans are perfect!!! Thank you indeed very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
CUT BACK ON THE SALT! **unless you are in love with salt** I was so happy I listened to the other reviews where it said that as I tend to not alter a recipe the first time I make it. I cook for 2 people here and halved this recipe and it makes plenty for 2 people. I also used my "mini" crock pot to make these. I soaked the beans for a full day and boiled for 2 hours in the evening and put it all together (minus the worcestershire sauce....a personal taste thing) with a tad more brown sugar and let it go all night on the low setting. I got up and cooked them all day on high and they are very good and not to sweet at all. SO, if you don't want your oven blasting away all day on a hot summers day then start these a day before and put your crock pot to good use.....the effort will be rewarded. THANK YOU FOR POSTING this recipe for us to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States