Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Not sure what happened. Followed this to the letter but it was so soupy that I had to drain off a lot of liquid and of course flavor got drained off with it. I was hoping that it would be thick and dark like the photo... Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgplnrlisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These were delicious!! I had to cook them longer to soften the beans but overall a fabulous baked bean recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used this recipe for the 4th July...I will never buy can baked beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oak&Ivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is the second time I made this delicious baked beans. The first time I used two cans of pork and beans, drained and then added all the ingredients, this just made it faster to prepare. This time I’m starting from scratch, I omitted the the dry mustard and Worcestershire sauce. Instead of plain ketchup, I used hot ketchup, I also used pepped bacon ends to give a little kick. I will see how the family reacts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I made this recipe after trying several that were not so successful. This was stunning. At our family BBQ for 35 people, there was not a bean left.This is now my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
2 thumbs up! I Exclusively use this recipe for making baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Canned Pork and Beans makes wonderful baked beans if you need a quick start and cuts the baking time to less than an hour. Using this recipe and add some finely chopped green bell peppers adds more color and a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These beans are delicious. Instead of bacon I use a tsp. of liquid smoke and a generous pour of maple syrup. I put everything in the crockpot and let it simmer overnight or all day. Then I let it sit for a few hours. They get better and better as time goes on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Wonderful! Really good flavor. I didn't have any navy beans, so I used half pintos and half small red beans. Next time I'll use navy beans. Thank you SO much for this recipe! I have to make almost all my food from scratch because I have a severe allergy to MSG, processed food, and man-made chemicals and pesticides. It can be tricky. This "from scratch" recipe is just fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was awesome - very close to another recipe I used to have. The only thing I did different is used a ham bone, which I added during the simmering part and then diced in the ham. I also finished it off in the slow cooker because I was using the oven for something else so I just added an hour or so to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States