Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Just made these and the flavor is great! I followed the recipe exactly, and the only comment is the skins on the beans are a bit tough, but I read that adding salt to the soaking water helps with this. Will try that next time and leave the salt out of the sauce to compensate. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wonderful - I'll never buy canned baked beans again. Next time, I'm adding a little heat - jalapeno pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These are really good, so much better than the quicky versions...in my opinion. This recipe is great as written, but very easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I make this for a family BBQ. everyone loved it! they actually fought over the leftovers. really great baked bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have searched and searched for a real baked bean recipe and was so happy to find this. Because real baked beans take a couple of days to prepare, with the soaking etc, my son and I make a huge batch and can it so we can enjoy these yummy beans any time without the extra work. For canning we make extra sauce, fill the jars 2/3- 3/4 full of the bean, sauce, onion & bacon mixture then add more sauce to leave 1 inch of head space and can according the directions that came with our pressure canner. In fact, we're working on a batch as I write this! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good. I did use a slow cooker though. Also added some chili flakes for a bit of bite. I find it rather comical that those that disliked it changed the recipe, made it wrong, or complained it takes to long and have to preplan. The whole point is to make baked beans from scratch, if that's not what your looking for buy a can of beans. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I'll go bake to baking it my way, thanks. It sure is going to last for quite some time. Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter. I was going to do what one reviewer did and put it in the crock pot for 20 hours, but to have for dinner, I'd have had to start it at like 2 a.m. Not happening. These were full of flavor, had the right texture, and were, overall, quite good. My mom especially liked them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I usually make these exactly as written, and people love them. Great recipe! As the author suggests, you'll probably need to add some reserved bean water, maybe a cup or so, a couple hours into the cooking time. Also, this recipe doesn't yield a huge portion, so you may need to make two batches if you're feeding a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Always wanted to try baked beans from scratch. It was wonderful, I acquired a bean pot and the were great!!!! thankyou Okay here's a follow up the first were good but the second attempt was great, I omitted the ketchup and worshire . used half cup of molasses and half cup of brown sugar, OMG OMG The bacon the bean the mustard all the same YUM YUM YUM Oh Did I Say YUM ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hart, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States