Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was a good start but for my family's tastes it was too heavy on the molasses flavor and just not zesty enough. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and waited until it was all baked together with the bacon and onion. But even then the molasses hadn't mellowed and there was just no zing. I added half a bottle of regular barbecue sauce which helped raise the tang factor but then it wasn't as sweet as I would've liked. Next time I'll use much less molasses, maybe add some vinegar and more pepper, and trust the taste of the sauce before it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made a big mistake. I thought that if I made these in the crockpot they would be wonderful. Not so .Cooked them on high for 9 hours. Added water. Used lovely salt pork. Kicked up the dry mustard. Beans were boring. Wonderful ingredients. DO NOT MAKE EM IN A CROCK POT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
WONDERFUL RECIPE AND SO SIMPLE TO PREPARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
The sauce in the recipe is absolutely delicious. HOWEVER, I did make a couple of changes when I did the recipe. Firstly I tripled everything except the salt, left that for a single recipe, too much salt for me and only one and a half diced onions. Finally, since I did not pre-cook the navy beans rather than adding just the water from soaked beans I added water and 1/4 cup of Spiced Rum. We put them into a crock pot for five hours, let cool completely then refrigerate overnight. The next morning I added 1/4 cup of molasses, another 1/4 cup of Spiced rum, and 1 1/2 cups of water and started them on low again. In the end I had to cook in the crock pot for about 18 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this! My husband hasn't stopped raving about how good these were...and it has been 4 days! I didn't decide to make them until around Noon, so didn't soak them overnight. I just simmered the beans in a pot for 2 hours and then moved on to putting them in the oven. They were a perfect texture! I skipped the Worcestershire sauce as I don't particularly care for that flavor--used a bit of vinegar for the acid. Delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the recipe I have been looking for. Prepared exactly as stated but I cooked the beans in my crock pot for 20 hours. They were wonderful. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I took this for a potluck & everyone loved it! I just 1/2 the salt & added very little liquid smoke & slow cooked it for 10 hours but first boiled the beans for 2 hours.I had to divvy up the leftovers everyone wanted to take some home!I 4 timed the recipe! Thanks for the recipe! ...Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Amazing! Made them for the first time last weekend and have already had several requests to bring them to my brothers 4th of July BBQ. These are going to be a family fav! I made them exactly as the recipe directed and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious! Super flavorful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
After soaking you want to discard the water. The point of soaking is to get rid of some of the complex carbs (the part that makes you gassy) and puts them in the water. The recipe I make is very similar to this. I always add some barbecue sauce and whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States