Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I used canned beans sine I was short on time. I used one can each black, white and kidney. I also used a whole package of bacon (12pz.). Baked them for 2 hours and they were amazing!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe takes time and planning but is well worth the effort. I used 2 slices of bacon rather than 1/2 lb. That was the only change I made. Truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe as written and the although I think I should have monitored and adjusted the simmering time (my beans were much too soft), the flavor was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe is foolproof. I am making it once again for New Year's Eve dinner. I did add some crushed red pepper to add a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe!!! Delicious!!! I did not change the ingredients and it was perfect. I used a slow cooker, so I soaked the beans overnight then simmered for an hour, rinsed and cooked on high for 6 hours. Very tender and flavorful. I found the simmering for one hour key. if near the end of that you let the water evaporate and lightly brown the beans before slow cooking, they give off a wonderful aroma and smokey taste. No need to add smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I doubled the recipe and it didn't have as much flavor as I thought it would. Next time I'll double the dry beans and triple sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I left out the 2 teasoons of salt altogether, as it was completely unnecessary with all that bacon and ready-made sauces. On the sugar front, against by better instincts, I followed the recipe faithfully. It was like some kind of candied bean dish, and virtually inedible. If I were to do this again, I would eliminate the brown sugar entirely, or perhaps just put in a pinch. And I would swap out the tomato ketchup for a tin of tomatoes. I'd also add in some celery to enhance the savoury element. I don't care whether that's authentic; I'm in the UK and have never had this dish cooked by an American, but I did Hugh Fearnley-Wittingstall's version of this dish from his Meat cookbook a few years ago. That one was enjoyed by my American flatmate at the time. But to me even that dish was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used soy beans and it came out awesome. The best baked beans I've ever made or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very time consuming and labor intensive to make, not really worth it. The beans took forever to tenderize on the stove, there was hardly enough sauce to fully coat the layered beans, and there wasn't enough bean water left to cover. Afraid of diluting the flavor with tap water, I baked it for less time to prevent it from drying up. The finished product tasted OK, but not terrific. Not really all that better than canned beans. The sauce did however taste good (maybe a wee bit salty) when it was freshly made. Next time, instead of spending all that time, I'll just make the sauce, and use it to dress up a can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delicious.Have made many times. Cannot go back to canned beans. No comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Blizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States