Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this! My husband hasn't stopped raving about how good these were...and it has been 4 days! I didn't decide to make them until around Noon, so didn't soak them overnight. I just simmered the beans in a pot for 2 hours and then moved on to putting them in the oven. They were a perfect texture! I skipped the Worcestershire sauce as I don't particularly care for that flavor--used a bit of vinegar for the acid. Delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the recipe I have been looking for. Prepared exactly as stated but I cooked the beans in my crock pot for 20 hours. They were wonderful. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I took this for a potluck & everyone loved it! I just 1/2 the salt & added very little liquid smoke & slow cooked it for 10 hours but first boiled the beans for 2 hours.I had to divvy up the leftovers everyone wanted to take some home!I 4 timed the recipe! Thanks for the recipe! ...Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Amazing! Made them for the first time last weekend and have already had several requests to bring them to my brothers 4th of July BBQ. These are going to be a family fav! I made them exactly as the recipe directed and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious! Super flavorful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
After soaking you want to discard the water. The point of soaking is to get rid of some of the complex carbs (the part that makes you gassy) and puts them in the water. The recipe I make is very similar to this. I always add some barbecue sauce and whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made this recipe with canned kidney beans after stumbling across something quick and easy. The result was phenomenal, though in hindsight the bacon should've been browned first-I'm still new to a lot of cooking. I'll be making this again for 4th of July weekend, though this time it will be entirely from scratch. Family has requested that I keep it to kidney beans, and I will be removing the salt. With so much bacon, there's very little need for the added salt. Definitely a favorite and extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Struber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
OMG this was so good. Followed the directions exactly and it came out perfectly. I know I will be making this recipe many more times. Bye bye can beans . Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! And it's practically mistake proof. I ended up making them in my slow cooker; I soaked the beans overnight and cooked them until tender before I added the rest of the ingredients. When I did add the rest of the ingredients, I accidentally miscalculated the amount to double and ended up quadrupling everything but the beans, bacon, and onion; they were still amazing. The extra liquid also allowed me to cook them longer without drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Excellent! I didn't have to time to soak the beans overnight, so did the "quick soak" method of bringing them to a boil, covering the pot, and letting them sit for one hour. Did the rest of the recipe as called for, but all in a crock pot. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States