Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
When I saw no can beans I new it was the real thing keep up the good work OLD SCHOOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRACE1
Photo by BEARLYBARBIE
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I made this as written and I am giving this 4 stars as written because it's almost perfect. I baked it and it got a little too dry so I pulled it out and added some water to it. When I tasted it, it still lacked that zing that I wanted so I made another batch of the molasses sauce and added that to it before I put it in the fridge for the night (it was already midnight at that point). This morning I tasted it, and it had that zing! It was a TAD too sweet but other than that it was perfect!!! Perfect consistancy, texture, taste, and smell. Next time I make them I will double the sauce but cut the brown sugar back from 1/2 cup to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BTK
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Totally awesome. Used a glob of prepared mustard and BBQ sauce for the powdered mustard and molasses, respectively. Canned beans can't come close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This recipe was excellent! I've always made baked beans that weren't the right consistency or they were too bland. This recipe was awesome! I used two cans of undrained beans - one of great northern and one of pinto because that's what i had. I also didn't have dry mustard so I used a tablespoon or so of yellow mustard - I just threw the ingredients together in a le creuset and baked for 4 hours. I only did the salt and pepper to taste... this recipe is definitely a keeper!! Can't wait to make it again (it makes your house smell heavenly)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I have been making this recipe for a long time and it is always well-received. The first time I made the recipe as written. Over the years I have tweaked it to our tastes. I reduce the Molasses to 2 Tablespoons to make it less sweet. I eliminate the Worcestershire Sauce, since we did not care for the flavor it imparts. I bake the bacon in the oven before preparing the casserole. I prefer to make this in a crockpot for parties. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is my first time trying a baked beans recipe before. Never will I go back to eating beans from a can! This was very delicious, I loved the smell in the house because of them. I did find it a little salty so next time I am going to add just 1 teaspoon of salt. But this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Bouchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
My husband doesn't like beans of any kind, but loved these! I didn't change a thing and they came out perfect, and reminded me of my grandmothers recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I doubled sauce. Next time use less water or maybe add paste instead of some ketchup. I thought it needed more time in crockpot, but guys couldn't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Omg...these are fabulous! Thank you for this awesome recipe! Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I can't believe I made Baked Beans from scratch! I took top reviewer J.P.'s advice and made them in the slow cooker, adding extra water every few hours. No one could believe that the girl who used to be dubbed "Helpless Hamburger" made baked beans from scratch! Even non bean-eaters were eating them, declaring them to be different than the canned version. The investment of time is absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States