Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I can't believe I made Baked Beans from scratch! I took top reviewer J.P.'s advice and made them in the slow cooker, adding extra water every few hours. No one could believe that the girl who used to be dubbed "Helpless Hamburger" made baked beans from scratch! Even non bean-eaters were eating them, declaring them to be different than the canned version. The investment of time is absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Fifty6ford
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I've been working hard at eliminating processed and canned products, so this fit the bill! I usually follow a recipe as posted the first time! I hate when the reviews are based on how someone has changed a recipe, and their thoughts on the changes. I followed this, with one exception, at 3 1/2 hours, the beans were a little firm, and I wanted more saucy goodness so I made another batch of the sauce and put them back in the oven! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Great! Doubled the sauce. Cut down on time by using a pressure cooker. Finished it off in the oven. Easy and Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Never made baked beans before, a good friend was coming for her birthday dinner and she loves baked beans so gave it a try! I did follow someone else's advice about draining the water the beans were soaked in, rinsing and added fresh water (with a cube of vegetable stock) and cooked for one hour and when checked beans were done.i. Being a hot day I used a crock pot..came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This is the first time I made real baked beans. Followed the recipe to the letter. Wonderful. Will be making for Memorial Day picnic. Wanted to try it out first. No changes necessary. Thank you for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I love this recipe! I double it up. I've also made some tweeks. As the water boils down, I add chicken stalk. I add a little more dry mustard and molasses. And I chop the bacon b4 I put it on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I cut the salt in half, and fried up the bacon and onions before layering them in. I will tweek the flavors a little more the next time I make these. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Today, Easter Sunday is the 4th time I've made this recipe. It truly is the best baked beans recipe I have ever made in my almost 50 years. I have even used pinto beans when I didn't have navy beans, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I made this for a large group get together and everyone loved it. I doubled the batch and made a few minor changes: I cut down on the onion a bit (my personal taste/preference) and diced the bacon. I did not layer the beans, bacon and onion, but mixed it up. Since the onion and bacon were diced, this was easy to do. I also mixed the sauce in instead of pouring it on top. I also cooked this in a crock pot set on high instead of baking in the oven and it seems to do well. This is definitely a keeper recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is fantastic! I used the dry beans that I had on hand, not exactly what the recipe called for, and it was still the tastiest baked beans I've served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States