Bosnian Style Cornbread (Razljevak) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Smack your granny good! The only change I made was in the cooking technique. Skip the 8X8 pan with cornmeal. Instead, put a thin layer of oil in a cast iron skillet and place it in the oven as you preheat. After the oven is hot, carefully pour the batter into the heated oily pan. It will sizzle and put a nice crispy crust on the bread. This was gobbled up by this southern family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is a very different corn bread as other reviewers mentioned. It has a tender and slightly spongy/eggy texture and a distinct buttermilk flavor. There was really nothing wrong with this. I just think it is a regional or acquired taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I really liked the texture. Not crumbly, not cakey, not really bready either. Easy for someone with bad teeth to chew. Next time I will add a little more salt (I'm usually a low-salt person, but...), and may try it with some frozen corn kernels. It could use a little more corn flavor, but I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is very bland cornbread. But with a lil grape jam it is awesome. Not to sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is great cornbread, but please keep in mind....very different from the cake-like, sweet American cornbread. Also, in the Balkans, cornbread is eaten with feta cheese usually; it's even included in the batter sometimes, but that is a bit of a different recipe. Also, sour cream and feta is very nice with this as would be any strong flavored cheese. Try it that way and you will enjoy it more if you feel it is bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is not what you're looking for if you want sweet, cake-like cornbread. However, it's got a delicious butter-milky flavor and tastes amazing with jam. I like it because I sometimes find sweet cornbreads a little overwhelming, especially with honey and like toppings, and this is a more neutral side. If you're tired sweet cornbread or just want something different for a change, try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was not to my taste. It was very bland and didn't really taste like corn at all. My very un-picky husband didn't like it either.I read the first review and was really looking forward to eating this with dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Made this three times. This is the best recipe for a cornbread without the sugar and honey. Semolina is essential especially if using a coarser corn meal or polenta that I put briefly through food processor. Full fat buttermilk is great as well as plain full fat yogurt. I used a 12" cast iron skillet and doubled the recipe-came out great as did the standard recipe . This cornbread is as good as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States