Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Lovely flavour! Soft and very more-ish. Yummy! -From a real Jamaican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I work with a lot of older Caribbean women and when I brought this cake in they LOVED it. It was so popular I only got one small slice; I found it to be a bit dry but very tasty. The ginger flavor is prominent without going overboard, and it's not greasy despite all the butter. I mentioned that next time I wanted to make a glaze to gussy it up and they vehemently told me not to, that it was perfect. I will say grating the ginger was a huge pain in my butt, getting 1/4 cup took about 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was wonderful! Thank you, Margorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I used Ginger Spice Blend from a tube and substituted Splenda brown sugar for regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
The ginger is surprisingly mild, but this is a tasty cake nonetheless. Be warned: grating 1/4 cup of ginger root is a pain in the neck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This one looked pretty, but didn't grab me. I agree with those who said it isn't too gingery. I think those who thought it was, just don't like spices in that family all that much. Anyway, if there is a spice "problem," it may be the cinnamon - too much of it. It wasn't really identifiable as cinnamon, but more distracting from the ginger. Mine came out kinda dry, but my pan was larger so I'm taking the blame. I topped with a vanilla glaze & I think it needs more sugar in the cake itself - or maybe dark brown as suggested. A good cake to have with coffee. To end, I'm glad I tried it; but doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'm sorry but this cake is not very nice... I wanted to like it and I followed the instructions. The cake tasted bitter (I don't know if its cause of the ginger which I bought fresh on the day of making this) and had this horrible stinky smell... I used dark brown sugar instead but I'm sorry I don't think the cake is sweet enough as you could probably tell by looking at the flour: sugar ratio.... the only good thing about this cake was the texture and that it was moist... I threw the whole thing out the next morning. I won't make this recipe again... sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! Very gingery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did not enjoy the spice combinations in this cake at all. I LOVE gingerbread, but this is not gingerbread. The ginger is way too strong and not sweet enough to balance it out. Definitely not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wasn't a hit at a party, even with Jamaicans there. I think part of the problem is that I made it several days early. It may lose its moisture rapidly. This cake probably should be planned for same day serving and perhaps fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States