Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, this is a moist, delicious cake. Do include the fresh grated ginger, it adds a unique and wonderful flavor. My Jamaican friend says to make this really authentic use dark brown sugar, preferably Demerara - I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
If you love fresh ginger, this is the ginger-cake for you! It differs from Gingerbread in that it is not so dark; it is more golden colored, and does not have any molasses. But the fresh ginger taste is strong and wonderful. I topped the cake with whipped cream. Also I used a large glass baking dish and baked using convection oven at 325 for 30-35 minutes. Sue Alice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This cake is fantastic! It just dances on your tongue! It was so moist! This is not your typical ginger cake--there is no molasses. So it is a nice light cake with lots of ginger sparkle. And I didn't even add the fresh ginger the recipe called for--just the powdered ginger. It was quite a hit with my guests. I made an orange glaze for the cake, but really...it was pointless. One: it didn't need any embellishment, and two: the orange taste was totally overruled by the ginger flavor. Go the powedered sugar route as she says. Thank you Margorita Whyte for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Made this along with a pound cake for a large family party. When people heard "ginger cake" they made a beeline for the pound cake. Once the pound cake was gone, a few brave souls tried this one, and within minutes, word had spread. It was literally devoured in about four minutes. (I come from a long line of sweets lovers.) Anyway, I made a glaze of 1/2 stick melted butter, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and about 3 Tbsp ginger brandy and poured it over the top. It was great!!! Thanks for a recipe I will be using over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I think I have found the perfect holiday dessert to serve to family and friends! This cake was neither too sweet nor too bland. Perfectly moist and chockful of flavour. To make it even more satisfying and visually appealing I baked the cake in portions so it was about 1 inch high and cut it into squares. Alonside a apple compote, a scoop of ice-cream and some caramel drizzled over the entire dish it was fit to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This dense, spicy, ginger-iffic poudcake is AMAZING! I used this recipe for my sister's wedding cake, with an orange-ginger cream cheese frosting... Everyone loved it! I could not have been happier with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Made this for my boyfriend and everyone loved it, made a few changes to make it extra moist: added 2tblsp black treacle to the batter; as soon as I took it out the oven, I skewered it all over and poured over a mix of 2tblsp brandy, 5g grated fresh ginger, 1tblsp water & 1/2tsp vanilla extract through a strainer & coated it with a vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
With the amount if fresh and ground ginger needed, I thought the ginger flavor might possibly be too intense. It was just right, and made a mild and moist bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Thanks to Margorita's delicious cake recipe, my fav charity is $44.00 richer. This was one of the cakes we auctioned off. People loved the look of it frosted and filled with Apricot filling and frosting for Angelfood Cakes also on this site. This cake was unique, tasty and moist. Thanks for sharing Margorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
You gotta love ginger! I was able to convert this recipe to a milk/butter, egg, wheat-free recipe. Got rave reviews from attendees at my baby's 2 year birthday party. And baby-kins loves the cake as well! I used a bundt pan but had to bake it for slightly over an hour. Dusted w/ powdered sugar and a good cup of coffee....a nice finish to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States