Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
If you love fresh ginger, this is the ginger-cake for you! It differs from Gingerbread in that it is not so dark; it is more golden colored, and does not have any molasses. But the fresh ginger taste is strong and wonderful. I topped the cake with whipped cream. Also I used a large glass baking dish and baked using convection oven at 325 for 30-35 minutes. Sue Alice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
You gotta love ginger! I was able to convert this recipe to a milk/butter, egg, wheat-free recipe. Got rave reviews from attendees at my baby's 2 year birthday party. And baby-kins loves the cake as well! I used a bundt pan but had to bake it for slightly over an hour. Dusted w/ powdered sugar and a good cup of coffee....a nice finish to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I tweaked the recipe a bit, so maybe that's why it didn't come out as well as I'd hoped-- I used fresh ground ginger (paste-form) instead of dried and grated ginger, and perhaps I didn't have enough of it. I also used honey for part of the brown sugar. I think I should've used more, because the flavor just wasn't there-- kind of a bland cake. Apart from that, I used applesauce instead of half the butter, and substituted two egg whites for one of the eggs. Texture of the cake came out fine, so at least you can reduce the fat without problems. I think I'll put a honey-lemon glaze on it and hope it enhances the flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This cake is fantastic! It just dances on your tongue! It was so moist! This is not your typical ginger cake--there is no molasses. So it is a nice light cake with lots of ginger sparkle. And I didn't even add the fresh ginger the recipe called for--just the powdered ginger. It was quite a hit with my guests. I made an orange glaze for the cake, but really...it was pointless. One: it didn't need any embellishment, and two: the orange taste was totally overruled by the ginger flavor. Go the powedered sugar route as she says. Thank you Margorita Whyte for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Moist and delicious. I thought the batter was not sweet enough, so I added 1/4 cup granulated sugar - I'm glad I did. Also omitted the ginger root as I didn't have it. Might be good with some custard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Thanks to Margorita's delicious cake recipe, my fav charity is $44.00 richer. This was one of the cakes we auctioned off. People loved the look of it frosted and filled with Apricot filling and frosting for Angelfood Cakes also on this site. This cake was unique, tasty and moist. Thanks for sharing Margorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I think I have found the perfect holiday dessert to serve to family and friends! This cake was neither too sweet nor too bland. Perfectly moist and chockful of flavour. To make it even more satisfying and visually appealing I baked the cake in portions so it was about 1 inch high and cut it into squares. Alonside a apple compote, a scoop of ice-cream and some caramel drizzled over the entire dish it was fit to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I never like ginger cake before until I try this recipe. Very moist and delicious. I added more brown sugar upto 2 cups. Because by the recipe it was a littlte less sweet. I don't know the quality of brown sugar in Thailand is the same 'sweet' as the original recipe. And I can't find ground ginger here too. So I just add more fresh ginger root instead (1/2 cup). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, this is a moist, delicious cake. Do include the fresh grated ginger, it adds a unique and wonderful flavor. My Jamaican friend says to make this really authentic use dark brown sugar, preferably Demerara - I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I made this cake for my ex's birthday... even though the guy wasn't a keeper, this recepie sure is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States