Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This recipe was a huge success at work, I added a lemon glaze and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Outstanding. Wanted to try a gingercake recipe - had no molasses - found this!! Didn't have any vanilla so used maple syrup and finished it off with 1 tbs of lemon juice to 2/3 cup icing sugar, drizzled it over whilst still warm. Loved by my 3 children - my 2yr old took a spoon to the cake whilst I was out of the kitchen to the acclaim of 'gorgeous'. Certifiable success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Great recipe! This was the first cake I've ever baked successfully -- I bought a Bundt pan just to try it. The ginger flavor was distinct yet not overwhelming, and the texture was dense and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Deming, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This dense, spicy, ginger-iffic poudcake is AMAZING! I used this recipe for my sister's wedding cake, with an orange-ginger cream cheese frosting... Everyone loved it! I could not have been happier with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
With the amount if fresh and ground ginger needed, I thought the ginger flavor might possibly be too intense. It was just right, and made a mild and moist bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I made the recipe as instructed and it seemed a little dry to me. I had people at the office sample it and they thought it was okay. More of a breakfast bread than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Scrumptious cake! I made this cake exactly to recipe and the ginger taste was on-point! Although the cake was sufficiently moist, I did top it with white chocolate glaze, because my daughter loves cake with some kind of frosting. 10's across the board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I made this cake for my ex's birthday... even though the guy wasn't a keeper, this recepie sure is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, this is a moist, delicious cake. Do include the fresh grated ginger, it adds a unique and wonderful flavor. My Jamaican friend says to make this really authentic use dark brown sugar, preferably Demerara - I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I never like ginger cake before until I try this recipe. Very moist and delicious. I added more brown sugar upto 2 cups. Because by the recipe it was a littlte less sweet. I don't know the quality of brown sugar in Thailand is the same 'sweet' as the original recipe. And I can't find ground ginger here too. So I just add more fresh ginger root instead (1/2 cup). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States